How to test Compressor Relay and Capacitor?


  #1  
Old 08-02-22, 08:54 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
How to test Compressor Relay and Capacitor?

Hello all,

My Jenn-Air refrigerator stops working.

Question> is there a way that I can confirm whether the Compressor Relay and Capacitor is bad?

https://www.repairclinic.com/PartDet...613606/3023300

Thank you
 
  #2  
Old 08-02-22, 02:51 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,654
Received 90 Upvotes on 79 Posts
If you have a multimeter that reads capacitance, you can use that to check the capacitor. The relay should close and send power to the compressor when the thermostat calls for cooling, so you should be able to check to see if the compressor is getting 120VAC when it's supposed to be on.
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 08-02-22, 04:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,967
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
Definitely check for 120vac to the compressor when it should be running before you do anything.
Typically when the start/overload/relay has a problem you'll hear it clicking trying to start.
 
q0987 voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 08-02-22, 07:58 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hello PJmax & Bob14525,

I have tested both the Relay and capacitor and they look fine.
Also I tested the resistance of three wires on compressor.

S => C is 5
C => R is 5
S => R is 9

S => ground is OL
C => ground is OL
R => ground is OL

So I assume the compressor is fine.

Question 1> I don't think I hear any click when I start the refrigerator.
Is it possible that even the relay is still conductive but it is weak and stops working?

Question 2> How do I check the following?

Definitely check for 120vac to the compressor when it should be running before you do anything.

Thank you

BTW,

1> all fans work
2> all coils are clean
3> I am pretty sure that the capacitor is good.
 
  #5  
Old 08-02-22, 10:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,967
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
Post the model so I can post a wiring diagram.

There should be one in your appliance. It's called a tech sheet. Usually folded and in a plastic bag. Could be behind a front kickplate or near the compressor.
 
q0987 voted this post useful.
  #6  
Old 08-03-22, 07:53 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hello PJmax,

The model number is: Jenn-Air Side-by-Side Refrigerator JCD2290HES
Does my unit come with a self-test mode that I can use to locate the problems?

Thank you

What I have checked:

1> all coils are clean
2> all fans are working
3> I have tested the compressor capacitor(spec 15uf) and the device shows 15.8uf
4> I have tested the compressor relay and the device has continuity.
https://www.repairclinic.com/PartDet...613606/3023300
However, I do NOT hear a click sound when I plug in the refrigerator.
I have ordered the OEM parts and have to wait until tomorrow.
5> When I power on the refrigerator, the wires to the compressor relay and capacitor have power.
6> I have tested the compressor and all electric parts look fine.
S => C is 5ohm
C => R is 5ohm
S => R is 9ohm

S => ground is OL
C => ground is OL
R => ground is OL
7> when I plug in the compressor, the coils directly connected to the compressor are room temperature and I think it should be very hot. So the compressor might not even start.
8> I have set the temperature through the front control panel to the lowest.

 

Last edited by q0987; 08-03-22 at 10:42 AM.
  #7  
Old 08-03-22, 11:30 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,967
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
Cannot locate the tech sheet.
The wiring diagram is in the parts diagram...... Sears Parts Direct - exploded parts views.

The diagram below is from the wiring diagram. The condenser fan and the compressor are connected together using white for neutral and blue for hot. That means if one has power... they both do. Double check you have 120v on the blue and white wires at the compressor. If you do... the problem is in your start relay assy.

 
q0987 voted this post useful.
  #8  
Old 08-03-22, 12:52 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hello PJmax,

Here is the picture of the adapter.

Question1> Do you want me to test the two holes of the adapter?

Quesiton2> Based on the diagram, both fan and compressor share the same blue and one white wire.
Does the extra white wire connected to the adapter is used to control when the compressor starts?

Thank you

 
  #9  
Old 08-03-22, 12:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,967
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
Yes... check at that plug when the condenser fan is running.
The two white wires are incoming neutral from the power cord and out to the rest of the fridge.
They are tied together in the plug.
 
  #10  
Old 08-03-22, 01:04 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hello PJmax,

I will use a multimeter to read the voltage after I back home.
Though, I tested the adapter has power with a noncontact voltage tester this morning and the tester shows the adapter has power right after I plug in the refrigerator.

Question> Is it true that the adapter should only have power when the control board calls for cooling in normal conditions? In other words, does the adapter have power when the compressor is OFF?

Thank you



 
  #11  
Old 08-03-22, 01:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,967
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
The neutral is always present on the plug. It is the hot that is switched.
Yes... it needs to be in cooling. When it is... the fan under there should also run.
 
q0987 voted this post useful.
  #12  
Old 08-03-22, 04:08 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hello PJmax,

I just tested the two terminals of the wire adapter and it shows 120VAC and will report back after I get the new compressor relay and capacitor.

Thank you!
 
  #13  
Old 08-04-22, 02:51 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hello PJmax,

I installed the new compressor relay and capacitor.

The compressor starts right up but still blows hot air
When the compressor is ON, the small copper line is around 94F while the larger copper line is around 87F.

So my guess is that the refrigerator leaks somewhere and it is lack of freon. Based on my understanding, DIY cannot easily test the low freon.

What should I check next for sure?

Thank you
 

Last edited by q0987; 08-04-22 at 03:45 PM.
  #14  
Old 08-04-22, 04:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,967
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
Yes.... that would be a good indication you lack refrigerant.
Unfortunately there really isn't any way to test or repair.
Typically the leak is in the evaporator inside the fridge which is almost impossible to repair.

There are some that add a quick tap onto the refrigerant line and try to recharge.
You could find that on you tube.
Not something I discuss here.
 
q0987 voted this post useful.
  #15  
Old 08-04-22, 05:32 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Hello PJmax,

I really appreciate all your helps.

Thank you!
 
  #16  
Old 08-05-22, 10:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,967
Received 4,149 Upvotes on 3,726 Posts
You are very welcome.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: