Whirlpool Dishwasher, intermittent flooding


  #1  
Old 03-31-23, 04:37 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Whirlpool Dishwasher, intermittent flooding

Whirlpool dishwasher, model WDT910SSYM3 (8 years old), intermittently leaks a large quantity of water (2 or 3 litres) from under front door, onto the floor. The underneath of the dishwasher is dry. It only happens about once every dozen loads.

All I have read refers to leaks(not floods) and suggests replacing front door seal, lower seal, cleaning filter ensuring discharge hose is not clogged. The filter was cleaned and hose is clear.

Because the "leak" (flood) is intermittent, I don't think it is a seal, otherwise it would be more regular and quantity of water would not be so large.

I think it might be a sticky water inlet valve (not shutting off when deenergized) or an intermittent float assy/switch. But I don't have experience fixing these appliances and would appreciate any suggestions.
 
  #2  
Old 03-31-23, 04:59 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,968
Received 298 Upvotes on 268 Posts
I would replace the water inlet valve as that is the most likely cause.

For it to be the float switch something else also has to have failed as the fill cycle is actually regulated by the control board (just timed) and not the float switch which is just a safely device which cuts off power to the fill valve if the unit overfills,\
 
gregger77 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 03-31-23, 07:26 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Thank you.

The float switch works properly when i manually activate it from under the dishwasher and the inlet valve turns off and on as the switch is activated, but i dont know if the float will actually activate the switch as the water rises because i cant overide the door switch and run it with the door open.

It makes sense that the fill valve is on a timer as it always seems to take 55 seconds from the time it starts to the time it stops.

I will take your advice and change the inlet valve.
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-23, 02:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,783
Received 4,122 Upvotes on 3,702 Posts
It could be the fill valve or the float switch. You'd have to visually check the water level inside.

Typically if there is a fill valve issue.... there is water leaking into the unit when there is no cycle in progress and the washer will fill with water when no cycle is in progress.

The fill is a timed function and the float stops the fill to reduce overflowing.
It sounds like to me your float and float switch needs servicing.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 03-31-23 at 06:59 PM.
  #5  
Old 04-03-23, 06:17 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
It could be the fill valve or the float switch. You'd have to visually check the water level inside.

-any hints how to do that? I cant watch it fill if the door is open. Over riding the door latch isnt simply inserting a tool and flipping the latch closed in the door. I tried that and the dishwasher wont fill unless the door is closed.

The further issue is the problem is only occasional. I have cleaned the float assy and the switch works properly when manually activated.

I will have to take a guess at the most likely cause and hope for the best. I think its the inlet valve sticking open, the float assy not activating, or maybe the control board, or wiring. Recently replaced the circulation pump, so i dont want to buy a new dishwasher now.
 
  #6  
Old 04-03-23, 07:53 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,968
Received 298 Upvotes on 268 Posts
I can only think of a couple scenarios where the float switch not working would cause an overfill.

1. The unit is overfilling all the time and the float switch is shutting the valve off ( not the control board timer) and then once in a while the switch does not work and you get a flood. I would think that in this case you would get at least some overspill as the unit is overfilled but am not sure about this.

2. The electronics once in a while keep power to the valve and the float switch does not work and this causes a flood. This would require two faults in the machine so is less likely.

3. The unit is not pumping out all the water so when the normal amount is added and the float switch does not work then a flood is caused. Again takes two faults. Also you did not mention water left in the tub.
Note this can also happen if the valve does not seal all the time and water leaks slowly into the tub or for some reason there is water back flushing into the tub.

That is why I think it is the valve but this there is no guarantee.
I may be missing something here.



 
  #7  
Old 04-05-23, 05:52 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Good advice. I will start with the inlet valve, as i think its the best guess.

Then i will focus on the float and the switch (I already cleaned the float and manually tested the float switch).

Since posting the problem has not reoccurred, making it harder to find cause.

The dishwasher is empty of water when I load it, but you might be correct. Perhaps its possible the drain pump isn't fully removing the water between cycles and then the timed fill over flows the tub.

What signals the drain pump to shut off?
 
  #8  
Old 04-05-23, 06:24 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,968
Received 298 Upvotes on 268 Posts
I do not have access to the tech sheet but often it is just a timed event.
 
  #9  
Old 04-06-23, 05:38 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 46
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
So it might be the water is not fully draining because its a timed cycle and then overfilling because its a timed cycle....except the float valve when manually activated does shut off the water inlet valve??

Guess i will just have to shot gun the possible repairs......just like a "pro"
 
  #10  
Old 04-06-23, 06:06 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,968
Received 298 Upvotes on 268 Posts
Yes could be but there is also has a problem with that assumption.
If it is not draining all the way then why does it drain all the way after a flood.
Because if it does not then it will flood every cycle unless you are forcing a drain cycle.
So this problem has a lot of possible causes.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: