KitchenAid Retractable Vent Stuck


  #1  
Old 06-21-02, 06:59 AM
alpate
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
KitchenAid Retractable Vent Stuck

I have a gas range with a Kitchenaid #KIRD801HSS retractable downdraft vent system. The vent has two removable filters. When the filters are removed, a microswitch prevents the blower and raising mechanism from operating. However, while cleaning the removed filters, someone pressed the 'retract' button, and the mechanism lowered. Now, the mechanism will not raise, and I have no way to install the filters since the mechanism is lowered. Is there a way to manually raise the vent? I have checked the manuals and found nothing on this topic.

Picture of device attached...
 
  #2  
Old 06-21-02, 03:36 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Cool Re: KitchenAid Retractable Vent Stuck

Originally posted by alpate

Picture of device attached...
Hi,

Attachments don't seem to work Model# keeps comming back as "not found", but that may just mean it is not on the web information.
I have not seen this type of a retractable hood on a KA range before...might be best to contact KA directly or local KA servicer to see if this is a way to "bypass" the system to get it to raise again...I hope these help...

http://www.kitchenaid.com/customerservice/index.htmls
KA customer services.

http://www.applianceaid.com/phone.html#K
Contact phone #'s.

http://www2.whirlpool.com/html/cs/
KA servicer locator ( US only )

jeff.
 
  #3  
Old 06-21-02, 04:35 PM
Carz n Compz
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
  #4  
Old 06-21-02, 05:40 PM
jeff1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Originally posted by Carz n Compz
http://www.us-appliance.com/kirkit30retd.html
Cool!!

But, do you know how to manually open it up?

Thankx,

jeff.
 
  #5  
Old 06-02-07, 04:25 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Same Problem

I have the same problem as described in this thread. My Kitchenaid model # is KIRD861HSS-0. We installed the filters incorrectly and the vent retracted but now refuses to rise. The manual says that such a thing can happen but does not give any advice on how to fix it. Customer service was unable to help and asked to schedule a service rep visit.

Any ideas on possible ways to fix this would be highly appreciated

Thanks
Sam
 
  #6  
Old 01-28-09, 12:20 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any updates?

Mine is having the same problem.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: