Hover SteamVac SpinSrub Model: F5914900 No Power

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-21-16, 03:47 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 334
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Hover SteamVac SpinSrub Model: F5914900 No Power

I was cleaning my carpet ... shut the machine off for a minute came back to continue ... nothing.

I tried in a different outlet I knew to be working ... nothing. Is there a fuse or is the motor shot? Can anyone direct me to a replacement part if so? Thank you for reading my post.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-21-16, 10:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,654
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
Looks like a very simple machine and wiring setup. The cord enters the unit..... goes directly to the power switch and then right to the motor.

That leaves three possible problems.... bad power cord, bad power switch, bad motor.
You'd need to open the base up and check using a meter.
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-16, 10:10 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 334
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Bad Motor?

I'm figuring it's a bad motor. I ordered a new one cost me $65 to the door. How can I use a meter to check the plug and switch? Although I doubt they are the problem. I smelled something burning while cleaning. Thought it was the neighbor burning outside, but he wasn't, so I think my motor is shot. Can you tell me where I can get any diagrams to help me? I had a feeling this was going to happen, when I started cleaning carpet every week. This was the third week so it didn't last long. Got the machine 4 Apr. 2012. Thanks for reading my post.
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-16, 10:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,654
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
You can use the meter to check for 120vac at the end of the power cord and thru the switch.

There isn't much online information about most appliances as far as servicing them.

The link has an exploded view. Not sure if it will help you much.
Hoover F5914-900 Parts List and Diagram : eReplacementParts
 
  #5  
Old 03-22-16, 10:37 AM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 334
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow Switch Shakey Now

I understand now about checking with the meter, but the switch may not work now because when I was removing the wires one of the terminals came off the switch. I tried to put it back in, but it won't go in all the way.

I will check it out and post the results. Thanks for the link.
 
  #6  
Old 03-23-16, 02:59 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 334
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow It's the motor

Plug and switch test ok ... so it is the motor. The replacement comes with a cord, switch and motor, so I will replace it all.

What kind of grease can I use on the brush motor gears, the old grease was removed when I clean it.
 
  #7  
Old 03-23-16, 03:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,654
Received 421 Votes on 394 Posts
Ok... comes as a complete kit. It may also come with the needed grease.
What color was the old grease ?
 
  #8  
Old 03-23-16, 07:03 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 334
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arrow

Oh no it won't come with any grease ... it is brown/tan color. The part may be here tomorrow, so I will have to go to someplace like home depot for the grease if I can get it.
 
  #9  
Old 03-24-16, 04:45 PM
spirittoo's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 334
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Got it Going

Well sir ... got the motor and other parts today. Tooke me a while to get it back together, but it works again. Thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: