Metallic tape on bottom of Stove Range Hood

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-17, 11:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Question Metallic tape on bottom of Stove Range Hood

My other question, we have a strip of metallic tape on the bottom of our stove range hood. Is this normal/correct? I attached a photo with 3 different angles.

Just wanted to make sure while we have new home construction warranty.

Thank you very much in advance!

-Philip

Name:  k1.jpg
Views: 129
Size:  37.7 KB

Name:  k2.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  59.3 KB

Name:  k3.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  68.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-05-17 at 05:46 PM. Reason: added new pics from link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-31-17, 01:55 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Welcome to the forums.

I separated and enlarged your picture but I can't see enough detail. A larger picture would be helpful. You can post three separate pictures too.
 
  #3  
Old 11-05-17, 04:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Hi Pete,

I hope this okay ... I dropped the images into imgur since there seemed to be a lot of size constraints in the doityourself forums.

https://imgur.com/a/gRqtI

Thanks,

Philip
 
  #4  
Old 11-05-17, 05:22 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
There is no reason for the tape. Someone either forgot to remove it, or was trying to hide a gap. Hiding a gap with tape is unacceptable.
Another possibility is the installer gave up on removing protective film or forgot it. Some stainless appliances have film that is very difficult to remove.
 
  #5  
Old 11-05-17, 05:26 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,849
OMG no! That's not correct at all. Is that OSB visible in the corner? It's Shuretape, but it could be insulating duct tape or just sealing. Is there a number on it right after the name...like AF100 or SF686? It looks like they forgot to tile that or a maybe a piece of SS trim wasn't installed.

Get the site supervisor or contractor out there immediately to correct it.

How long have you lived with it that way? Or did you just move in?
 
  #6  
Old 11-05-17, 05:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
I replaced the original pics in your opening post with resized ones from your link.

Nice job with the tape. Shurtape AF-100 UL 181 A-P.
They could have used a tape that was all silver with no writing on it.
 
  #7  
Old 11-05-17, 06:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Hi Vic,

The tape is covering wood. We haven't lived with it for long, this is a newly-constructed house and we moved in less than a month ago.

We will get the construction manager back out. Thank you very much for sharing your expertise!

-Philip
 
  #8  
Old 11-05-17, 06:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Hi Brian,

If you look at the 3rd picture, it is covering wood. Not sure how come there is wood there. Is that "hiding a gap" as you mentioned was a possibility?

Pretty sure they didn't forget to remove it, and were covering the wood.

We will get the construction manager back out. Thank you very much for your insight. :-)

Philip
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-17, 06:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
The wood is part of the framing. That's normal.
It should have been covered with a little strip of stainless steel.... not tape.
 
  #10  
Old 11-07-17, 04:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Thank you Pete and everyone, we'll get a SS trim from the builder.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'