Sharp R-8290 Microwave Blowing Fuse Immediately

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-09-19, 01:23 PM
DPDISXR4Ti's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sharp R-8290 Microwave Blowing Fuse Immediately

This is a 1988-manufactured oven, so it certainly does owe me anything. That said, if I can fix it for short money, I will.

The other day, it just shut off during use. I replaced the fuse, display lights up, I can set the time, open and close the door, but the second I try to run it the fuse blows. From what I've read, this points to the capacitor as the likely fault. I measured the resistance across the terminals and there is none - i.e. complete continuity. Have I found the problem?

Thanks...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-09-19, 02:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,849
Received 255 Votes on 240 Posts
If there is no short measured across the cap.... then it's not shorted.
Check the high voltage diode.
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-19, 11:05 AM
DPDISXR4Ti's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply Pete. I'm saying there IS a short. There is no resistance at all between the terminals of the cap - complete, no resistance continuity.
 
  #4  
Old 08-10-19, 11:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,849
Received 255 Votes on 240 Posts
Yes.... there is a resistance. If you have a dead short.... you would have 0 ohms or possibly 1 or 2 ohms.
An open circuit is no resistance.

Did you measure across the cap with the wiring or at least one wire removed. I believe there is a bleeder resistor on the cap but it should be very high resistance.
 
  #5  
Old 08-11-19, 09:43 AM
DPDISXR4Ti's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 63
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, my bad on the terminology. Indeed the cap is dead-shorted. For this oven, the resistor wire is on the harness side.

I just am on the fence about bothering to invest even $20 for a new capacitor. It is a 31 year-old appliance.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: