Magic Chef Mini Fridge not getting cold


  #1  
Old 05-08-22, 03:12 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 158
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Magic Chef Mini Fridge not getting cold

I plug it in and hear a click near the compressor
Runs for 20 seconds off for 2 minutes back on.

Compressor is hot.

Not sure if it is in a relay of the compressor locked up ?

https://youtu.be/78MlzFhFptQ


 
  #2  
Old 05-08-22, 04:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,047 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
Not sure what I was supposed to hear in the video. I did not hear the compressor running.
Heard one click at the end.

Does the compressor actually run ?
One of the copper lines should get cold.
 
  #3  
Old 05-09-22, 04:28 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 158
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The copper lines felt about the same to me.

I will recheck and let you know.

Its the same sequence.. click, which comes from the small box on the compressor, followed by 20 seconds of it running and then off for 2 minutes, repeats



 
  #4  
Old 05-09-22, 10:11 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,047 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
If the compressor is running, gets hot and neither line gets cold.... the system may be out of refrigerant.
If one of the lines got hot then it would be a system clog.... like in the capillary tube.
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-22, 10:26 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 158
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I unloaded new video New Magic Chef video

In the comments are the times that the compressor kicks on and off
The compressor get hot, but neither the left or right copper lines are cold.

Can refrigerant be added ?

Is that an expensive test?
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-22, 12:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,047 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
It sounds like it's only humming for 20 seconds before cutting out. It doesn't sound like it's actually running. That would indicate a compressor problem. It would run much longer if it was just out of refrigerant.

Was it recently working normally ?
Was it moved and then stopped working ?
 
  #7  
Old 05-15-22, 09:40 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 158
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It was working until about a month ago and stopped.
I had it since about 2006

It may not be worth fixing if it is the compressor?

I see a lot of options where I can have one delivered from Amazon or get one at Home depot for under $300.

--

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Magic-Ch...0BE/311454842?


https://www.amazon.com/Magic-Chef-MC...s%2C56&sr=1-24


https://www.amazon.com/s?k=lockable+...f=sr_nr_p_72_1
 
  #8  
Old 05-15-22, 09:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,401
Received 4,047 Upvotes on 3,631 Posts
If you bought the compressor (NSA30LACG) as a replacement it would cost you roughly $125 for the replacement kit. If you bought the compressor directly from an Asian distributor it would be $25 each on a pallet of five units.

Not cost effective to replace the compressor unless you know exactly where the leak is and can fix it.
If you have a clip on ampmeter..... you can check the current draw of the motor. It should draw approx 1A when running. If it's much higher than that... it's definitely bad.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: