Multiple Computer outlets, lacking wires?

Old 07-28-00, 09:17 PM
Visiting Guest
Unhappy

I have been trying to install electrical outlets in an office. Some of those outlets are specially designed for computer use, having a second ground wire. One of the ground wires is red, which connects to the standard ground on the outlet, and the other to the box. My questions is, my contractor wired a box with only one of each red, copper, white, and black wires, but the outlet is supposed to support two recepticals. Do I have to run a second set of wires to install the second receptical, or is there a way of connecting so both will work?

Sponsored Links
Old 07-29-00, 12:55 AM
Visiting Guest
Cool

I'm not an electrician, but you are confusing me. Normally, an outlet needs one hot wire (black wire to brass screw), one neutral wire (white to silver screw), and one ground (bare to green screws- receptacle and metal box, if metal). Red wires are normally a second hot wire. (Are these outlets on a switch?) You only need to connect to one each for both receptacles on an outlet. Computers need to be on grounded outlets for surge protection. Sprky or one of the other pro electricians in here will be able to help you if you give a little more information. Good Luck!

Old 07-29-00, 03:13 PM
Visiting Guest
hello natedarwin,
im going to address the verry unusual/unorthordox second ground which is RED first. according to the NEC grounds must be eather green or bare. if your contractor wired this as an isolated ground, then he shuld have just mark the red green or striped it bare. unless he installed an isolated ground bar in the panrel the second ground does nothing except add a second ground path. IG's r not verry common in a resadence since conduit and metal boxes r not used. what we normaly use for computers is a designated circuit.