Light shock

Old 08-01-00, 11:14 AM
Visiting Guest
Red face

I just installed a new outdoor disconnect for the a/c unit. this is a new mobile home. inside panel is grounded to frame and from there to a 6' ground rod. I put a 60 amp breaker in and connected ground wire 6/2 romex to ground block in panel.Do I need to ground the metal disconnect box on side of home to ground?

Old 08-01-00, 02:08 PM
Visiting Guest
Cool

I'm not an electrician, but I have replaced my AC disconnect box twice over the years, and the pro electrician who put it in had it grounded to panel only, so that's the way I did it. If the code is different now, I'm sure that sprky, lefty, or one of the other pros in here will straighten me out. lol Good Luck!

Old 08-01-00, 02:38 PM
Visiting Guest
If you hooked up the ground on the power feed cable, the ac disconnect is grounded thru the main distribution box. You do notneed or want to drive a ground rod just for the disconnect switch. Two or more ground rods grounded at different locations create circulating currents.

Old 08-01-00, 04:47 PM
Visiting Guest
pilly is that disconnect itself grounded back to panel or did you just run a ground through it to your ac unit ? the disconnect should be grounded by using the same ground wire going to ac unit.Now for a question why if this isa new mobile are you replacing the disconnect everything should be warranted for at least a year and do you get a shock or something around this unit

Old 08-01-00, 06:01 PM
Visiting Guest
Philly622:

I think the guys are right on here. Make sure the disconnect enclosure is attached to the bare ground in the 6/2 romex. That would be it's grounding connection. You did connect to the ground bar in the panel, not the nuetral right? These homes have a 4 wire system where nuetral and ground are isolated from one another. I say this only because a lot of guys are used to bonding the two in the main panel. Good luck with your project! Let us know how you make out. Pete.