14 gauge/20 amp?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-28-02, 02:24 PM
G
Gnftr42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
14 gauge/20 amp?

Can 14 gauge wire support a 20 amp load on a short run, ie less then 6 inches coming out of a pigtail? Just trying to keep the wires a little more manageable in a box. Or is this half a*$ing it.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-28-02, 02:29 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not according to NEC,, not legal. No part of the circuit can be less than 12 to be on a 20.
 
  #3  
Old 07-28-02, 02:30 PM
G
Gnftr42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks. I will just keep it at 12 then.
 
  #4  
Old 07-28-02, 02:48 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,115
Received 69 Votes on 59 Posts
Ideal makes a stranded 12 ga. pigtail with a wirenut on one end and a forked terminal on the other. They are designed to terminate to switches and receptacles. They work well and are fairly flexible, more so than solid wire.
 
  #5  
Old 07-28-02, 10:19 PM
G
Gnftr42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
That pre-fab pigtail is a nice idea. I will try to find one of those. Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 07-29-02, 09:28 AM
green jacket's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Williamsport and Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Posts: 502
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The Home Depot stocks them, yellow or red wire nuts with black or white wire. also available are green ones for grounding only.

Local supply houses may carry them. HD has them in ten packs. ~$5.00

gj
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: