No Electric

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-30-02, 01:12 PM
K
knantka
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No Electric

I used an air conditioner and a microwave at the same time. They are both on the same circuit. The microwave stopped working, as well as the air conditioner. The circuit breaker did not "pop". Other outlets on the circuit still work though. Why did the breaker not "pop" and whay do the other outlets still work - the microwave and air conditioner do not? I plugged them into another outlet and verified it was not the units themselves.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-30-02, 01:33 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Three main possibilites: (1) You tripped a GFCI, (2) the high current caused a weak connection to fail, quite possibly a backstabbed receptacle connection, or (3) you really did trip the breaker (even though it doesn't visually look like it) and those other outlets are actually on a different circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-02, 01:37 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 588
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Everything still works? thats good. I have no idea why your breaker didn't flip. It sounds like it should have.

It be as easy as resetting a GFCI outlet. any chance you have one of those on that circuit?

By the way, I would make sure that your A/C runs on its own circuit with its own breaker in the future. It pulls a pretty hefty current, especially if it is a 120V air conditioner.
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-02, 01:44 PM
K
knantka
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No Electric

I do not have a GFCI.

I have talked to a friend and he said the same thing about the dedicated circuit foir the AC - Definately my next project after solving this problem.

It could be a possibility that the other outlets are not really on the same circuit. The description on the legend in the panel is what lead me to believe other outlets on the same circuit are working - I have not actually verified.

Someone said I could have fried the recepticle - Is this a possibility?

Thanks for your responses!
 
  #5  
Old 07-30-02, 05:51 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're probably right about not having a GFCI. However, I just thought I'd point out that we have had an astounding number of people who made the same assertion but later found out that they did have a GFCI hiding somewhere in their house.

Yes, you could have fried a receptacle. That's essentially another description of my point (2).
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: