Adding a 220 volt circuit

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-14-00, 06:49 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

I have a 220 volt 100 amp circuit into my
breaker box. the box has capacity for 12
circuits and 10 are in use with the two
open circuits being on the same 110v side.
I want to know how to add one or more 220V
circuit(s)(add on box if necessary). I am
going to use these circuits to power my
woodshop in my basement( a table saw and an
18 1/2" planer)All my other machines are 110v
Thanks AYLI9 -Charlie
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-14-00, 07:02 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

When you say they are on the same 110 volt side, do you mean that they are on the same side of the box? Adjacent spaces on the same side of the box are on opposite 110 volt sides. And that's exactly what you need. Just buy the appropriate double-wide breaker for this spot, plug it in and wire it up.

I don't think it would be safe to try to specify the directions here. Look in a book to make sure you understand all the codes. Perhaps someone else will take a stab at specifying the complete directions here.

Let us know how it comes out.
 
  #3  
Old 08-14-00, 07:38 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

hello AYLI9,
john is correct even though the spaces r on same side if they r 1 below the other they r on 2 diferent phases. in a singel phase panel every other space is on a diferent phase starting at the top of the panel for each side. if i had more info i could tell u what u would need and how to wire but i dont know motor size, or amp draw of machines, wheather 3 wire or 4 wire, length of run
 
  #4  
Old 08-15-00, 06:38 AM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

Thats right, both open spaces are on the same
side of the box, one below the other. I understand what you are saying about phases
and I understand the basics. I have added
a couple of circuits in my house(it is 25 years old)but I have never put in a 220v
circuit nor were there any 220v circuits in
the house since I have a natural gas furnace
and range/oven. I also dont have central air
since I couldn't afford it when we first got
married. I am trying to find a DIY book or
a web site that could help me out on this
Thanks for all your help and any more you can give me
Charlie
 
  #5  
Old 08-15-00, 03:16 PM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

hello AYLI9,
220 is no diferent then 110 just a higher voltage and 1 more hot wire.
 
  #6  
Old 08-16-00, 08:03 PM
G
Guest
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

I would suggest adding a sub-panel in your woodshop. Install a 50amp, 2-pole breaker in your panel, run a 4-wire cable (#6 copper wire) (or use conduit if required or easier) to the subpanel. At the sub-panel, install the 2 hot wires in the appropiate locations, and do the same with the neutral and the ground wires. The ground wires will tie to the bar that is attached to the enclosure. The neutral will not be attached to the enclosure. From this panel, run the appropiate circuits to the desired locations, by adding a breaker(correctly sized, of course), in the same way that you did to add the circuit from your first panel.

Keep looking for that book, and let us know if you find anything.

Good luck. RM
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: