electrical

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-05-02, 05:03 PM
S
samdog
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question electrical

I need help A.S.A.P in creating a wall plug from existing lite switch that only have two (black) hot wires.

Thank You
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-05-02, 05:20 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You want to replace this light switch with a receptacle? If so, how are you going to switch the light?

If there are two black wires in this box and no other wires of any kind, then this is impossible. Post back and give us a complete inventory of all wires in the switch box, including wires tucked behind the switch and not connected to it. Be sure to turn off the breaker before making this investigation, and be careful not to disconnect anything.
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-02, 05:53 PM
S
samdog
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
electrical

I"m not trying to get rid of switch.I"m trying to use power from an existing switch which is
two hot(black)wires to create a wall plug.

Thank You
 
  #4  
Old 08-05-02, 06:44 PM
M
MTgets
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
dog, you need a nuetral wire to make that outlet work.
you do not have this wire in your switch box.
Is there anywhere else you can tap power from?
It needs to be a complete circiut, a hot wire and a nuetral wire.
Or you can run a new line from the panel.
How about a outlet on the other side of the wall, mabye?
Post back with more info on the layout of the room you are in.
Thank you
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-02, 06:54 PM
B
bwetzel
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You say there is two black wires on the switch. Is there any other wires behind the switch that are tied together?? If there is only two wires in there you will have to find it somewhere else.
sorry
 
  #6  
Old 08-06-02, 03:35 PM
S
samdog
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The layout for this is kitchen (upstair flat)existing switch leading to basement hallway existing light fixture.I"m trying to create a wall plug using power from switch(if possible)that has two hot(black)115v total.

Thank You
 
  #7  
Old 08-06-02, 04:59 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No,, it is not possible unless there are also other wires in the box.
 
  #8  
Old 08-06-02, 05:01 PM
M
MTgets
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The three of us have all told you this is not possible. You still want to do it (if it is possible). It is not. The best bet for you is to first understand how a switch works and what is needed for it to work. I strongly sugest you go to your local home improvment center and buy a DIYer book on home wiring. (15bucks?) they have alot of great pics, and explainations.

Start here first and you will quickly understand why this will not work.
good luck
 
  #9  
Old 08-06-02, 06:05 PM
S
samdog
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Guys,I know how a switch work. It just seem like you can contiune the power that a switch interupted to power a new wall receptacle. I guess I"m trying to look for the easy way out.

Thank You Very Much For Your Time.
 
  #10  
Old 08-06-02, 06:35 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sam, all of us have asked you if there are any other wires in this box other than the two black wires connected to the switch. You have not directly answered that question. Have you pulled the switch out of the box and looked behind it? Is there anything there?

We're trying hard to find a way for this to work.

However, if there are no other wires behind it, then your two black wires are a hot and a switched hot. You have no path for the current to return to the panel. You need a complete circuit, and two black wires at a switch isn't enough. The best you could do is wire the receptacle in series with the light. If you did that, the light would not come on unless whatever was plugged into the receptacle was also on, and neither would function properly.
 
  #11  
Old 08-06-02, 07:49 PM
B
bwetzel
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
John,
I agree with everything you said to him but this:
The best you could do is wire the receptacle in series with the light. If you did that, the light would not come on unless whatever was plugged into the receptacle was also on, and neither would function properly.
This is not a good thing to tell someone who is trying hard to find a way to make this work.
As for the power at the switch,You still have no grounding conductor at the switch to take to your plug. Therefore
your plug will not work! If I am understanding you, there is two black wires on the switch. If this is an older house it is possible. If this house was built in the 70's you will not have just 2 black wires without any white wires. I don't know what else to tell you other than call an electrician!!
 
  #12  
Old 08-07-02, 04:40 AM
S
samdog
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile

Thank Guy, this is an older house, I was trying to wire a receptacle to it nearest (possible) source.Plan 2 is to racetrack to wall receptacle across the room.

Thanks
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: