Dead phone Jack

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-02, 03:33 AM
M
MJV
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Dead phone Jack

My home phone works fine. However, I want to add a phone to an existing (but never used) jack. When I plug in the phone I get no dial tone. Can you direct me to a post or website outlining the diff steps to reconnect the jack - it is not for a second line.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-06-02, 03:57 AM
abNORMal's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Jersey USA
Posts: 536
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #3  
Old 08-06-02, 04:51 AM
T
terrywouldbe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
transformer?

I've got a phone jack in my room that has a step-down transformer connected to it and plugged into an outlet. This is a 120v Primary to 6-8v Secondary transformer. What is its purpose? The phone has a dial tone with the transformer unplugged. Also, would the sec. voltage also be AC, or does this transformer also incorporate a rectifier for VDC ?

I'm needing to put a jack in the living room and want to tap off of the jack in my room.
 
  #4  
Old 08-11-02, 09:35 PM
P
Phonetek
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Transformer

I would guess that this transformer is for a phone that is many years old. In the old days the phones used to be big bulky and heavy. Some use a transformer for the purpose to make them ring. To make a phone ring it takes 96 Volts AC. Well, actually it requires less but thats the voltage that comes from the equipment at the Central office. Now a days the phones come with these little electronic ringers that don't require heavy duty voltage but the old phones with the bells on them it took more. Now, you say you unplug it and the dial tone is still there. Yes, the dial tone will be there either way but when you unplug it call you home number and make sure the phone still rings. Unless you have one of those old antique phones you shouldn't need it. If your phone doesn't ring without it I would suggest purhasing a newer telephone. I doubt you will have problems elimiating that. Hope this helps!
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-02, 06:43 AM
K
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 588
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Terrywouldbe-
My parents had one of these for an old fashioned rotary phone that had "pretty lights" on it when you picked it up. Unfortunatly the transformer blew straight out of the socket in an electrical storm.
The phone still worked fine without it, but the lights never came on again. I would say that you do not need this transformer, you could probably remove it for good.
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-02, 01:10 PM
T
terrywouldbe
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks, kuhurdler and Phonetek for the reply.

With the transformer unplugged, the phone does ring and there is a dial tone for me to dial out - everything seems to work normal without the use of this TX.

So, I guess all of my questions, except one, on this post have been answered. The one unanswered question, regarding the use of a rectifier to change from AC to DC is not important. Was just curious about it from a theoretical point of view.

Again, thank you for your replies.

-Terry
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: