Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-06-02, 05:53 PM
S
skarch
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Angry Wiring

WHEN I HAVE THE MICRO WAVE ON ,LINES APPEAR ON MY T.V. SET
THIS ALSO HAPPENS WHEN THE FURNACE FIRST KICK IN OR THE DEHUMIDIFIER FIRST STARTS UP. WHAT CAUSES THIS AND IS THERE SOMETHING LIKE A SURGE PROTECTOR FOR MY T.V. SETS
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-07-02, 12:11 PM
W
Wgoodrich
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I would suspect a service that is too small to serve the house. What you are discribing I am picking up to be applainces on different branch circuits. Leads me to believe the problem would be in the common wire which would be the serice itself. You may also have a loose neutral between the neutral bar of the main service panel, in the meter base, or at the point of connection or at the connections at the Utility company transfromer on the power pole.

Try running an extension cord from that TV to a different branch circuit If the lines disappear you could have a bad connection on the hot wire also on the power side of the main breaker.

Let us know what you find.

WG
 
  #3  
Old 08-08-02, 04:40 PM
S
skarch
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks for the info
I will rely the reply to my electrician friend
It seems a bit out of my leaugue to handle
 
  #4  
Old 08-09-02, 12:53 PM
K
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Kansas City, KS
Posts: 588
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm wondering if you use an antenna, or cable, or if it seems to make a difference?
 
  #5  
Old 08-09-02, 06:40 PM
S
skarch
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
cable
 
  #6  
Old 08-10-02, 07:50 AM
W
Wgoodrich
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
kuhurdler has a point that may be a source of your interference. You cable supplier of satellite, is it properly grounded to the ground rod and where the cable enters the house if that outer shielding conductor web grounded to the equipment grounding system?

If the above is not done as discribed Kuhurdler may have the source of your problem also.

Try the extension cord and confirm the above grounding has been done as required by the NEC.

Let us know what you find out

Wg
 
  #7  
Old 08-10-02, 11:58 AM
S
skarch
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I tried the microwave in another circuit and their was no interference. I checked each outlet and replaced 2 old plugs and made sure ground wires were attached properly.
no more problems
thanks for the extension cord trick
 
  #8  
Old 08-10-02, 07:08 PM
B
buzzybuzzhead
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If the microwave was made in japan and the tv was made somewhere else the electrical nodes DO NOT match up inside and this will cause lines.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: