Plug adapter for major appliance?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-11-02, 06:26 PM
T
teresa*ann
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Plug adapter for major appliance?

I purchased a used electric stack washer and dryer. When I got it home, I discovered that the plug is not the right kind for my outlet. They are both 3 prong but the washer has two straight prongs and a bottom one that is L shaped. My outlet has 3 straight prongs. Does that make sense?!

Is there such thing as an adapter that I can put on the end of my plug to convert it to the type of plug for the outlet? Or will I have to have the outlet changed?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-11-02, 06:48 PM
A
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Re:

The plug already in the wall is a 20A 120v plug. The plug on the washer/dry is a 30A 240v 3 wire plug. you will have to install a new curcuit for it.
 
  #3  
Old 08-11-02, 07:05 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Further describe "three straight prongs". There are many different receptacles that have three straight slots. Also please further describe the plug on the new unit. We need to know whether the slots are parallel, perpendicular, neither, etc. Are they all slots, or is one a "D" shaped hole?

Worst case, aphares may be correct. If so, you may want to consider returning this unit and using one more suitable to the electrical setup you have. But let's poke at this a bit before we give up.

Was there anything else in this location before you bought your current unit? Is it set up for a separate, side by side, washer and dryer? Or perhaps for a gas dryer?
 
  #4  
Old 08-11-02, 11:50 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I bet he has a 50 a range recept? And he needs a dryer thingy. Didnt there used to be 30 a recepts also? They had a narrow straight ground. Those add on plug ends come with both,, a strait and an l
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-02, 04:35 AM
T
teresa*ann
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Follow-up

Thanks for all the help! Ok, let me see if I can give you more info. The trailer was already setup for an eletrical washer and dryer. Not for an eletrical stack but for separate units. The outlet that is there is big and the 3 slots all run up and down. 2 on top and one on the bottom. It looks like this
l l
l

They are slots not round or D shaped but just straight up and down. The plug on the cord for the stack looks like this
l l
L

But, the L one is upside down.

Gosh, I hope that makes sense!

Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-02, 06:21 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check this website and tell us which recept. and plug you have.
http://www.bryantelectric.thomasregi...c/sb_chart.htm
 
  #7  
Old 08-12-02, 06:26 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also please describe the size of the breaker that controls this circuit.
 
  #8  
Old 08-12-02, 03:37 PM
T
teresa*ann
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Follow-Up

The link really helped. The outlet looks like the pic that reads "10-50R" or "10-50P". The plug from the stack looks like the pic that reads "10-30P.

I don't know the type of fuse that supports this circuit. Sorry.

Thanks again for all the help!
 
  #9  
Old 08-12-02, 06:20 PM
W
Wgoodrich
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Teresa, you should be able to exchange the receptacle with three straight prongs with a new receptacle with two staght prongs and on "L" prong. Problem is we have to know what size fuse or breaker is in your panel.

Trailers are supposed to be four prong receptacles that includes older mobile homes. Are you sure you only have three prongs?

Three prongs would be a Code violation in a mobile home whether existing or not.

Wg
 
  #10  
Old 08-12-02, 06:26 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It sounds like this receptacle is for a range. To your knowledge, has there ever been a range in this location? Or maybe a commercial dryer?

You can convert this to your needs by having an electrician change out the breaker and the receptacle from 50-amp to 30-amp. It's a pretty simple job.
 
  #11  
Old 08-13-02, 09:30 AM
S
Sparksone42
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It's also possible that the circuit is of the correct size since you say that it is set up for a washer and dryer side by side. It may be that the previous owner put the wrong configuration of cord-cap and receptacle in originally.

Take a look at the breaker that controls this receptacle and let us know what size it is. That will solve most of the speculation. It may even be possible that there is a ground present in the box but they never brought it out as they were supposed to.

Don't give up yet, the fight aint over.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: