Changed outlet/switch, lights won't come on

Old 09-02-00, 02:40 PM
Visiting Guest
Angry

Hello! This is my first time posting here but I hope someone can help me out. Here's the situation. Please pardon my lack of knowledge when it comes to technical terms

This afternoon my husband replaced all of the wall receptacles in one of our bedrooms. Just a straight switch from beige receptacles to white ones. He also took a standard wall switch (which controls an overhead light) and replaced it with a dimmer switch. He turned off all the power before doing so and when he was done he turned all the breakers back on to test his work. Every one of the receptacles work as well as the dimmer. But here's the weird thing - the lights in the hallway and in the master bedroom will NOT turn on now! I thought maybe the surge when we turned the breakers back on blew the bulbs but changing the bulbs did not help. We flicked the breakers off and on again and still these two lights will not turn on. Can anyone shed some light (pun intended on why these would not be working now and how to fix them? We did not even touch either of these fixtures or the wall switches when we changed the others.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-02-00, 02:46 PM
Visiting Guest
Me again. I just thought of another tidbit of information which might make a difference. The hallway light is a 3-way switch. The master bedroom light is on a single switch. Don't know if that helps at all but I thought I'd mention it. Again, neither of these were fiddled with when we changed the receptacles and light switch

Old 09-02-00, 02:48 PM
Visiting Guest
Look for a GFCI outlet in your bathroom. Push the reset button.

Old 09-02-00, 05:12 PM
Visiting Guest
Thanks for the suggestion ranck. I tried it but unfortunately it didn't work