help changing 2 outlets on switch to 1

Old 09-05-00, 06:04 PM
Visiting Guest
Question

Greetings,

I am new to the home-improvement gig and not versed at all in the terminology used in the electrical improvement field.

I have the following dilemma. I have a two plug outlet in my living-room that is controlled by a switch on the wall. I want to make one of the plugs constantly hot and allow the switch continue to control the other plug.

What do I need to do? Or, if my question involves too long a reply, what is a decent book that I can find at the local library or bookstore that will explain this to me.

Thanks,

jc

Sponsored Links
Old 09-05-00, 09:23 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am taking for granted that your dwelling is less than thirty five years old. If you dwelling is older then you may not be compatible with this explaination.
DON'T FORGET TO TURN OFF THE POWER !
Reading between the lines and your terminolgy I think you are saying that you have a duplex [receptacle with two plugs in the same yoke {mounting bracket}] that is on a switch located in another part of the room. Now you want one of those receptacles on that one yoke to be switched and the other on that yoke to be pemenant on.
If your power source is in the box that contains the switched receptacle, then all you have to do is remove a small tab found between the two brass screws, separating the continuity from the two screws. then connect a permenently hot wire to one of the brass screws and the switched wire to the other brass screw. You should not have to make any changes to the white or bare conductors.