Submersible deep well pump

Old 09-16-00, 10:18 PM
Visiting Guest
Question

Installed submersible pump at depth of 380'. Used 10/3 (3 wire pump). 10/3 runs from well pump to pump control box. Ran 12/2 from control box (only had 2 wire connections and ground) to disconnect switch (also 2 wire/ground) and 12/2 from disconnect to 30 amp, 2 pole breaker in service panel. Pump will not work. What did we do wrong? How do we fix it? Any help will be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-16-00, 11:09 PM
Visiting Guest
Cool

I'm not an electrician, and I don't know exactly how you wired this up, but I guess that you know that the white wire in the 12/2 is supposed to be hot (no neutral, if this is a 220-v pump.) Did you make sure that the pump itself is set for 220v, and not 110v, if that what it is supposed to be? If 220v, did you connect the 12/2 white through to the 10/3 red? Black to black? Ground to ground? If you can give a little more info, I am sure that one of the pro electricians in here can help you. Good Luck!

Old 09-17-00, 06:49 AM
Visiting Guest
Pump motor is wired to black/yellow/red in control box. 12/2 is wired white to L1 and black to L2 (The only connections leaving the control box). These go to disconnect box, white to L1, black to L2. At service panel, have 30 amp 2 pole breaker. White and black are wired into poles on the breaker. Pump is 1 1/2 HP, 3 wire, 220 v. We also have a pump saver and pressure switch but they are not wired up yet, we are initializing the pump as per instructions, or at least we are trying to. There could be other problems, but am trying to rule out the easiest first. Please help.

Old 09-17-00, 08:21 AM
Visiting Guest
It sounds like the wiring is ok per your description. Have you checked to see if you are getting voltage at the disconnect switch and at the pump control box. Its possible that the control box contacts were not making good contact. The covers can be tricky to put back on sometimes.