Double Breaker Replacing Single Breaker

Old 09-22-00, 10:43 AM
Visiting Guest
My fuse box is full and I would like to add some lights in our basement along with an entertainment center. The slots going to my Dining Room and Living room are minimally loaded (3-5 lamps only). But, I would rather have a separate circuit breaker so someone suggested a double to replace the singles. Is this a reasonable thing to do?

I believe I have 100 AMP service, but after reading all the notes in this community I will double check.

Also; houses just like mine in our neighborhood only seem to have 1/2- 3/4 of their boxes full so I can't understand the differential. They were all built by the same builder back in 1980. Ideas on this?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-22-00, 11:13 AM
Visiting Guest
Cool

I'm not an electrician, and I don't particularly like them, but there are thin single pole circuit breakers that fit two into the space of a regular breaker. I think that that is what your friend is talking about, and not a double breaker (those are for 220v circuits).
You need no more than a 15 amp breaker for 14/2 w/ground wiring (o.k. for lighting), and you use a 20 amp breaker for 12/2 w/ground circuits (best for outlet circuits). Your 100 amp panel may or may not be adequate for your home, if you start adding extra circuits. I think that you need to consult an electrician. Good Luck!

[This message has been edited by OldGuy (edited September 22, 2000).]

Old 09-22-00, 05:14 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts