Garage Door Acting Spooky

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-28-02, 07:45 PM
ddcookie
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Garage Door Acting Spooky

My garage door will not close unless I keep pressing on the switch until it closes. There is nothing blocking the sensors. If I hit the button to close it, it jerks and the light blinks. HELP!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-28-02, 08:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like the sensors are not aligned. Perhaps someone kicked one of them. Check that first. If that doesn't fix it, be sure to tell us what brand the opener is when you post back.
 
  #3  
Old 08-28-02, 08:24 PM
ddcookie
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
spooky door

The mechanism is a Chamberlain 1/2 HP. I unplugged it and plugged it back in and that did not help. The sensors are securely fastened to the metal supports and appear to be aligned. However, I don't know how to tell if they are working....should there be a little light beam or something? Seems like there used to be a spot of light, but there is not any light in the sensor now. Of course, I can't depress the switch and run see if the light comes on when that happens, cause I'm here by myself right now. Advice appreciated!! Door is only 4 yrs old.
 
  #4  
Old 08-29-02, 12:50 PM
shmoore
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I have the same problem with our Chamberlain garage door opener. Our problem seems more intermitent and was worse this winter. I am not sure how old our unit is as we just recently moved into the house. I would also like to know what's up with this as well.
 
  #5  
Old 08-29-02, 01:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might want to clean the sensors as dirt has a habit of causing all sorts of little problems with them. There is also a relay in the control mechanism of many units that may not be holding. But normally it is a sensor problem. What stlye of sensor is being used on this unit?
 
  #6  
Old 08-29-02, 04:11 PM
run2car
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Check the power connections to make sure there is not a loose wire. I had the same problem with mine and found the connectors were not very tight.
 
  #7  
Old 08-29-02, 04:24 PM
ddcookie
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
THANK YOU!!!

Many thanks to you guys and gals!!! I tightened the screws, nothing happened, then I untightened them and tightened them back again and VOILA!!! The sensor lights came on and it's operational again! Just save me probably an $40 service call!!

THANKS AGAIN! Now, let's see, do I have anything else that is not working?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: