Help

Old 10-02-00, 09:16 PM
Visiting Guest
Angry

I am not sure how to fix this. My friend was helping me change wall outlets and replaced outlets controlled by a switch and now the outlets wont work off of the switch. And one of the breakers trips when the switches are one even though nothing is plugged in. There are four wires and a ground on the outlets, is there a diagram to wire them or do I need an outlet tester?

Sponsored Links
Old 10-03-00, 02:43 AM
Visiting Guest
Cool

I am not an electrician, but once you determine whether your wire from the panel (power source) goes to the switch (two sets of black/white wires-with-bare ground in switch box) or comes from an outlet to the switch (one black/white-with-bare ground in switch box), you should be able to straighten it out.
First, turn OFF circuit breaker at panel.
If the switch has two sets of black/white wires w/bare ground: Connect both blacks (hot) to brass screws on switch, twist and wirenut both whites (neutral)together, and do the same with bare (ground) wires and pigtail to green screw on box.
If the switch has one wire of black/white-with-(bare)-ground coming from the first outlet: SWITCH: Connect the black at the switch to a brass screw. Mark the end of the white (now a hot) with a piece of black tape and connect it to the other brass screw on switch. Connect the bare ground to the green screw on the box. FIRST OUTLET: Mark end of (hot)white from switch with piece of black tape and connect to a brass screw on first receptacle. Twist/wirenut the blacks together (from switch to other receptacles). Twist/wirenut the bare grounds together (pigtail) and connect to green screws on receptacle and to box. Connect white (neutral) going to other receptacles to silver screw on first receptacle.
In other outlets: connect both incoming/outgoing blacks to brass screws, both whites to silver screws, and pigtail bare ground wires to green screws and boxes.