HELP - Armored Cable Question???

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-00, 09:01 AM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

I bought some armored flex conduit..with no Cable in it...I have regular electrical wire 14/2 I believe with white plastic cover w/ black and white and ground wire inside...
How do you fit it in the armored casing I can get about 3 feet in but that is all..
Can U strip off the White plastic and feed in the wires...Or how do U pros do it...???

Kent
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-00, 01:02 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

You install the same sort of wire you install
in a conduit, such as THHN, which comes in
single conductors.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-00, 03:41 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

hello diyguy,
what u have is flex conduit, u dont put romex which is what u currently have in flex. u need to run singel wires that come off a spool threw this type souch as thhn, u also need to run a ground with flex if it is over 6'.
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-00, 11:49 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

DYIguy

Also, incase you don't know, wires such as thhn are typically pulled through the flex conduit unless it is a fairly short and straight run. Without getting into details,a fishtape can be pushed through the conduit and the wires are attached and pulled through. Most often it requires two people, one pulling while the other feeds wires into the conduit.

Phil H
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-00, 08:53 AM
BoatMech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Los angeles
Posts: 592
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post

The replies are right usually single conductor wires are installed in flex conduit. However there are many occasions where you want to protect a romex such as a water pump installations where the Romex comes out of the wall and you want to protect the short section going to the pressure switch.

The reason you are having trouble in my opinion is that you have purchase a flex conduit too small allowed for the Romex to be installed in. The NEC requires that you measure the widest dimension of the Romex and consider that as a single round conductor of that size diameter allowing the conduit to be filled to a maximum of 53% of fill of the cubic inch ot that conduit.

I suggest that you use a size larger flex conduit.

Good Luck

Wg
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-00, 07:21 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

If you're using a #14 or #12 Romex, use the 1/2 inch flex. A good trick in feeding it through is to strip off about an inch of the outer sheath on the cable and put a wirenut over the conductors.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by DYIguy:
I bought some armored flex conduit..with no Cable in it...I have regular electrical wire 14/2 I believe with white plastic cover w/ black and white and ground wire inside...
How do you fit it in the armored casing I can get about 3 feet in but that is all..
Can U strip off the White plastic and feed in the wires...Or how do U pros do it...???

Kent
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

 
  #7  
Old 10-15-00, 04:21 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post

fi your use is as wg described in the previous reply,then it is ok to protect the wire with flex. You should tape the end of the romex so it will not hang up inside the flex. you should keep both the romex and the flex straight while pushing it through.
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-00, 08:21 PM
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up

Thanks all who replied...lol
I broke down and bought 6 feet of Armored cable w/ wires...finished the job....
Next time I know better to do it the right way..

Kent
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: