TO ALL OF US

Old 10-15-00, 05:50 AM
Visiting Guest
To everyone here I have been coming here for a couple of years now and the number of knowledgeable people that have joined in is really great,and you all have taught me a lot.I think that we all need reminders once in a while so here i go. Just because something is allowed by code or it may be safe in your house or mine it may not be safe in the hands of someone with less knowledge,example is multi wire circuits to me they are one of the most dangerous things allowed by the NEC, and another is allowing conduit to be used as the ground.If conduit breaks or comes apart there goes the ground if you only turn off one breaker on a multi wire and you unhook the neutral bing shock injury ot destruction of items exist.So when you post answers please keep in mind the person asking and under what conditions it will be used.I beleive we have a tendency to forget that sometimes ok I'll get off my soap box and take my lashes with some #22 gage wire,but do think about this

Sponsored Links
Old 10-15-00, 11:23 AM
Visiting Guest
Doc, although I agree with you in principle, the best we can do is answer the questions asked. We have no way of judging the experience level of the person who asked the question.

I think most of the responsibility for caution needs to be on the part of the person receiving the advice. Here are some common principles that all posters should know:
(1) The person providing advice may sound knowledgable, but may be making it all up.
(2) There are ALWAYS very important factors involved in the project that are NOT covered by the answer.
(3) The person providing advice may have completely misunderstood your question. This person almost always makes certain unstated assumptions about your situation.
(4) Codes vary from city to city, and from year to year.