spare refridgerator


  #1  
Old 09-07-02, 11:25 PM
josh1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
spare refridgerator

Fridges/freezer combo needs a dedicated 20A circuit right? thinking of adding a spare to my garage as I can have it for free if I pick it up. THanks -Josh
 
  #2  
Old 09-08-02, 05:42 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not always is a dedicated needed. Check the nameplate in the unit to see how much current it draws. Mine draws about 11 amps, so I used a dedicated.
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-02, 06:55 AM
Gary Tait
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If you care for the contents, you won't put it on a GFCI receptacle.

OT, but of note, you received if for free most likely because
it is not as effecient as new models.
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-02, 06:28 PM
josh1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
out of curiousity why not on a gfci circuit or receptacle? THanks-Josh
 
  #5  
Old 09-08-02, 07:04 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In case the GFCI trips, you will lose all the food. The rule of thumb (not an NEC rule) is to never put anything on a GFCI that will be a disaster if the GFCI trips. This includes food storage, sump pumps, iron lung machines, smoke detectors, etc. Normally, all receptacles in a garage must be GFCI protected, but there are exceptions. A receptacle located in a space dedicated for a not-easily-moved appliance is one such exception. You should install a single receptacle (not a duplex receptacle) for this purpose.
 
  #6  
Old 09-08-02, 10:02 PM
josh1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
You guys are good! I was specifically planning to put it on a gfci but now Ill go standard. It pays to ask Thanks again-Josh
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: