Breaker box needs cutout

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-08-02, 09:34 PM
T
Thp1111
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Breaker box needs cutout

my breaker box has space for 3 more breakers, but no cutouts available - is there any reason i can't add a hole to the box? (i.e., code violation, etc?)

how would I do this - would i use a knockout cutter? any other way?

Thx for any help you can offer

Tony
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-09-02, 05:51 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The breaker box is tested in a particular configuration, don't change it. Some times the panel cover doesn't have cutouts because of exceeding the max # of breakers permitted in that style panel or there is not correct bus detail to accept a breaker in those positions, etc.
Remove two breakers, install a two pole breaker in that position and install a subpanel. Reinstall the two breakers (from earlier in this sentance) in the sub panel. The you can have a plethora of spaces.
 
  #3  
Old 09-11-02, 05:44 PM
B
bwetzel
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
some panels let you install piggyback breakers. It is two breakers that fit in one spot. Will this work for you?
 
  #4  
Old 09-11-02, 08:24 PM
P
pdesiato
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Never alter an electrical panel box unless it is approved by the manufacturer. There is a reason for your panel to be like this.

A sub panel is a good idea or if your particular panel will accept twin style breakers this will be an easy and cheaper solution. Not all panels will accept twins and some will only allow them in certain positions. Read the name plate on the panel this should help you.

Good Luck
Pat
 
  #5  
Old 09-12-02, 01:34 AM
M
MTgets
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes, you can add another hole to the box.
What size cable are you running for the circiut? do you need a hole for 1/2" or 3/4"? You can use a hole saw sized 7/8" for 1/2" and 1 1/4" for 3/4".
Or yes you can use a knock out cutter if you have one.

If you use a hole saw, to put a hole in the top of a panel, always take the cover off and protect the inside of the panel with pieces of cardboard, so the metal chips dont fall on anything, stuff rags in to to fill in any holes, temporarily. DO NOT let metal chips or the slug fall into the panel.

Also look at the routing of exsiting wires to make sure you dont cut those once you pop thru.
Once you have your hole, be sure to use an approved connnector for whatever you are using, romex,bx,or conduit.
 
  #6  
Old 09-12-02, 11:56 AM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 695
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by MTgets
Yes, you can add another hole to the box.
What size cable are you running for the circiut? do you need a hole for 1/2" or 3/4"? You can use a hole saw sized 7/8" for 1/2" and 1 1/4" for 3/4".
Or yes you can use a knock out cutter if you have one.

If you use a hole saw, to put a hole in the top of a panel, always take the cover off and protect the inside of the panel with pieces of cardboard, so the metal chips dont fall on anything, stuff rags in to to fill in any holes, temporarily. DO NOT let metal chips or the slug fall into the panel.

Also look at the routing of exsiting wires to make sure you dont cut those once you pop thru.
Once you have your hole, be sure to use an approved connnector for whatever you are using, romex,bx,or conduit.
MTgets
Read the original post again sir. He is talking about modifying the dead front of a panel so that he can make use of the unused spaces on the buss bars. Some manufacturers use the configuration of the cover nock outs to meet the requirement for limiting the number of breakers in a panel. The blocked spaces are often opposite spaces that are used in another model of panel for a main breaker. The dead front cover does not contain nock outs for the covered slots in order to prevent there being used. Modifying the panel cover assembly in the maner he is talking about would void the listing mark and make it unnaceptable to most AHJs. In the event his panel were to suffer a burn down after he modified it his fire insurance carrier could walk away form the loss if they become aware of the cause.
--
Tom
 
  #7  
Old 09-12-02, 06:28 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I can't tell from the original post which of these two interpretations he means. I think we've now covered the main two options -- yes, you can cut a round hole in the frame through which you can run cable -- and no, you cannot cut a rectangular hole in the cover for another breaker. Thp1111 can apply whichever answer he needs to fit the question he intended to ask.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: