Wiring lights to a switch

Old 09-10-02, 06:31 PM
octa
Visiting Guest
Unhappy Wiring lights to a switch

Hi I hope someone can answer a pretty basic question for me since I'm relatively new to doing all of this as a new homeowner. I currently have two light fixtures that are switched on and off using a string hanging from each one. What I'd like to do is replace both of them with recessed lights and hook them both up to a switch on the wall.

Sorry if I'm being too general here but I'd appreciate any tips or hints that could help me out Thanks for any and all help!!

Old 09-10-02, 07:04 PM
A
Master Electrician
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Switch:

If the light are controled by a pull-chain than power is in the light box, and if you think this is a job you can do, than first, from the light box run a cable down the wall, (12/2) romex. cut in a old construction wall box, for the new switch. Let new wire hang out at least 6" from front of box. run new cable (12/3) from one light to other light. Again let 6" hang out. post back let us know if you have this done, and then let us know what light has what wires in it, and location to the switch. then we can get you through the hook-up part.

Old 09-10-02, 08:23 PM
J
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
It depends on how the cable is routed now. Is there already a cable between the two lights? Does the cable end at one of the two lights? If the power comes to light#1 first, and then there is already a cable from light#1 to light#2, and if power does not continue anywhere else after light#2, then all you will need is one 12/2 (or 14/2 if on a 15-amp circuit) from light#1 to where you want the switch.

In the paragraph above, I have outlined one possibility. Arthur has assumed a different possibility. There are many other possibilities on cable routing. Rather than us try to provide a solution for every possible condition, it would help if you provided more information about the existing cable routing.