Base board heat

Old 10-09-00, 10:01 PM
Visiting Guest
I was wondering if anyone new if base board heat can be used with a programmable thermostat. My old thermostat has only 2 wires, and I am a real novice, and the instructions for the new thermostat has a lot more wiring diagrams. Any help would be great!!!!

Thanks a bunch.

Sponsored Links
Old 10-10-00, 08:26 AM
Visiting Guest
Baseboard heat could be either electric or hot water. Which do you have? If it's electric baseboard, the thermostat must be a high voltage type. If it's hot water, then a low voltage type is used. Are the 2 wires small "bell wire" or thicker power type wire?

All the programmable thermostats I have seen are the low voltage type. Does not mean there aren't high voltage programmables, I've just never seen one.

Old 10-10-00, 03:30 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The only way I can think of to use a low voltage programmable thermostat on a high voltage 220 volt heating system like baseboard heat is to place the programmable thermostat in the room you want to control the baseboard heat. Run the low voltage output to a jbox large enough to accept a relay in the jbox. Place a two pole 240 volt relay with a magnetic coil controling the relay that is compatible with the low voltage output of your programmable thermostat. The low voltage thermostat would call for heat closing the low voltage output running to the magnetic coil pulling in the contactor of the relay that has a two pole set of contacts which would close by the pull of the low voltage magnetic coil. This would energize the baseboard heaters.

Hope this helps.

Wg

Old 10-26-00, 11:59 AM
Visiting Guest
Questions on this last post.
All three heaters equal 16.7 amp. (4000 Watts) (240)
1. The relay is rated for 25A RESISTIVE NON-INDUCTIVE and only 12A MOTOR INDUCTIVE, FULL LOAD.

Which should I be looking at? Is this relay ok?