Added X10. Now Halogens Blink

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-13-02, 12:32 PM
T
Thinkly
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Added X10. Now Halogens Blink

Hopefully this question belongs in this forum. It is an X10 question but I don't think the problem is...

Anyhow, I added an X10 switch into a circuit to control my garage light with via a sensor. All is well with that, but since I have done this, my 12V (I think) Halogen undercabinet lights in my kitchen blink on and off on the high setting. It almost seems like they are doing it at 60 cycles per second.

Anyone know why this is? The Halogen lights work fine on any setting but high. With that said I pretty much hate these lights except for the fact that I love the effect of the light itself. The quality of these round fixtured halogen undercabinets leave a LOT to be desired!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-13-02, 07:32 PM
A
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
posted Q:

Thinkly thank you for posting.
I posted your question at an X-10 site, and waiting for responce. this is a copy of what is to come:
Your question has been received. You should expect a response from us
within 1 business day.


You may also update this question by replying to this message. Because
your reply will be automatically processed, you MUST enter your reply
in the space below. Text entered into any other part of this message
will be discarded.
[===> Please enter your reply below this line <===]

[===> Please enter your reply above this line <===]

If your issue remains unresolved, please update this question at
http://support.smarthome.com/cgi-bin...ted=1031970546


Question Reference #020913-000055
---------------------------------------------------------------
Summary: I added an X10 switch
into a circuit to control
my garage light with via
a se...
Products/Topics: Lighting & Appliance
Control
Category: Operation
E-Mail Address You'd Like Responses Sent To: [email protected]
Date Created: 09/13/2002 07:29 PM
Last Updated: 09/13/2002 07:29 PM
Status: Unresolved


Discussion Thread
---------------------------------------------------------------
Customer (axxxxx phares) - 09/13/2002 07:29 PM
I added an X10 switch into a circuit to control my garage light with
via a sensor. All is well with that, but since I have done this, my 12V
(I think) Halogen undercabinet lights in my kitchen blink on and off on
the high setting. It almost seems like they are doing it at 60 cycles
per second.

Anyone know why this is? The Halogen lights work fine on any setting
but high. With that said I pretty much hate these lights except for the
fact that I love the effect of the light itself. The quality of these
round fixtured halogen undercabinets leave a LOT to be desired!
Hope this helps. will get reponce in a day or two , thanks
 
  #3  
Old 09-14-02, 12:55 PM
A
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
X10:

Response (Mark) - 09/14/2002 09:23 AM
Hi

Your under-counter lights use a transformer which must be very
sensitive to noise on the power line. X10 looks like noise to some devices.
Plug that transformer in to a 4845AC and all will be back to normal.
see the 4845AC at: http://www.smarthome.com/4845.html

Have fun
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: