240 volt wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-15-02, 04:35 AM
G
Garey
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Post 240 volt wiring

I have an active 240v line going to a plug for a 240 air conditioner. I've removed the old a/c and installing two 120v a/c's. How do I divide the 240 plug into 2 120 volt plugs?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-15-02, 06:34 AM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In order to make two 120V circuits from one 240V you need to have a third insulated conductor from the panel to the outlets. You would also have to be sure that the two hots are fed from different phases from the panel. Let us know how many wires you have and the arrangement at the panel
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-02, 04:22 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Garey, as HandyRon has implied, most likely you cannot do this with existing wiring. And since you'll need to run a new cable anyway, you might as well leave that 240-volt receptacle and circuit there, and simply add one or two new 120-volt circuits (depending on the requirements of your air conditioners). In other words, I believe the best solution is to pretend that the existing 240-volt circuit isn't even there.

A simpler solution would of course be to buy another 240-volt air conditioner, and forget about the 120-volt air conditioners.
 
  #4  
Old 09-15-02, 05:58 PM
P
P Michael
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
If you do have a neutral [white] wire to your 220 volt receptacle, you could do it. However, 220 by its nature uses less amps so if the wires are #14 gauge you would be limited to 15 amps or more properly 12 amps for the AC and this might not be enough.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: