Reconnect power to detached garage.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-02, 01:07 PM
B
bkent
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Reconnect power to detached garage.

Just moved in to a house. Detatched garage had power run to it, but 1 wire was cut. According to the neighbor kid, some other neighborhood kids used to mess with the garage-basically break stuff and screw around in it cause they didn't like the homeowner. Because of these kids the homeowner cut a wire so that there would be no chance of the kids getting shocked or burning the garage down...

Here are 2 pictures, one coming out of the back of the house and one going into the garage:



You can see the cut wire dangling down on the right.




The 3 wires ran to the front of the garage. 1 wire was simply cut and wrapped around the lights on the garage, and wound up and sorta left to dangle on the house side.

Can I simply reconnect the 2 wires, and what do I use to do so? Someone at work said something about a "wire nut" or a "splice nut" or something...

running underground would not be easy as I have a driveway in the way...if I need a splice cause I can't stretch it what kind of wire do I use?

As you can see the wiring is old (insulators) the house was built in 1942...

Any advice???
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-19-02, 06:23 PM
A
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pictures:

Fromthe pictures it is hard to tell, but it looks as if the wires from inside the house and the garage are missing. Is this correct?
Aslo there is two power cables attached to the garage, Why?
Is the wires that was cut from inside still there?
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-02, 01:00 PM
B
bkent
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
3 wires come from inside the house, across to the garage.

1 of the wires is cut purposely thus cutting power to the garage.

This picture shows the cut, dangling wire:

http://home.insight.rr.com/bkent/ima...loridaRoof.JPG


the 3 wires come out in a round thing, then go to insulators, then from the insulators across to the garage. I have a home warranty and could try to go that route, but I know it would be shoddy work and cost lots of money ($100 deductable). I'd rather do it myself...
 
  #4  
Old 09-20-02, 01:04 PM
B
bkent
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Let me try to clarify:

Originally, 3 wires ran from the house to the garage.

Currently, 1 of the wires is cut and dangling.

no power in the garage...

What I think I need to do is re-run the one cut wire, but I'm not sure why 3 would be run from the get go...
 
  #5  
Old 09-21-02, 08:23 AM
G
Gary Tait
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Replace it with modern triplex.
 
  #6  
Old 09-23-02, 07:57 AM
hornetd's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 695
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Source of wires

Originally posted by bkent
"Let me try to clarify:

Originally, 3 wires ran from the house to the garage.

Currently, 1 of the wires is cut and dangling.

no power in the garage...

What I think I need to do is re-run the one cut wire, but I'm not sure why 3 would be run from the get go... "

You need to trace the wires back to the source at the panel and tell us what they are attached to. armed with that information we may be able to help.
--
Tom
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: