Motion activated to non motion activated

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-22-02, 09:01 AM
P
Paulblue
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Motion activated to non motion activated

1 motion activated light on the porch.
2 non-motion activated lights on the driveway.
1 Switch.

Is it possible to connect the above and have the 2 non-motion activated lights go off and on together with the motion activated light. If not, is there a way to do it?

Thanks, Paul
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-22-02, 10:30 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sure it can be done by hooking them to the motion sensor of the first light. You would have to add up the wattage to make sure the sensor isnt overloaded and I believe you will need to gfci that circuit though. One of the inspectors will look in here and add details I am sure.
 
  #3  
Old 09-22-02, 03:39 PM
P
Paulblue
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

The total wattage is 180 ( 3x 60 ), but pardon me for asking, What is a gfci ?
 
  #4  
Old 09-22-02, 05:38 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
GFCI is Ground Fault Circuit Interruptor. You don't need it to protect the lighting. But you may need it to protect the cable if it is direct buried (i.e., not in conduit) less than 24 inches deep. GFCI is usually provided by a GFCI receptacle in the house before the cable leaves the house, or by a GFCI breaker in the panel. It's purpose is to keep you from getting electrocuted.
 
  #5  
Old 09-25-02, 05:02 PM
P
Paulblue
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile

Thank you, everything worked out OK, no
GFCI was required.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: