Knob and tube replacement

Old 11-12-00, 09:27 AM
Visiting Guest
Lightbulb

If I wanted to replace the knob and tube wiring in the house I live would it just be as simple as pulling 14-2 or 16-2 in place of the knob and tube.

Sponsored Links
Old 11-12-00, 01:56 PM
Visiting Guest
Cool

No. I'm not an electrician, but re-wiring an old home with knob-and-tube wiring usually involves ripping out plaster walls and ceilings enough to properly run the new wiring and boxes.
I'm sure that you should replace the entire electrical panel, as well, if that has not already been done.
Sounds like you need to re-wire your entire home, and have a pro electrican do the work.
Get 3 quotes from different electrical contractors, and CHECK references. Good Luck!

Old 11-12-00, 03:53 PM
Visiting Guest
Don't use 16/2 -- it's not good for anything in your house. And if it was me, I wouldn't use any 14/2 either -- the smallest wire I'd use would be 12/2.

Old 11-12-00, 08:16 PM
Visiting Guest
Question

Why do you suggest using 12/2? I'm a new do-it-youselfer but was told that since 14/2 can carry up to 15 amps (which is the maximum amount on a circuit)that is the standard for most house wiring?

Old 11-13-00, 07:29 AM
Visiting Guest
12/2 is only marginally more expensive than 14/2, and it is a bit harder to pull and connect to devices.

But, 12/2 provides you less voltage drop, allows longer runs, generates less heat, and allows you to upgrade circuits to 20 amp in the future should the need arise or should you wish to add more outlets.

Anybody else got any other advantages to 12 gauge?

Old 11-17-00, 10:17 AM
Visiting Guest