Adding a 2nd switch to a ceiling light

Old 11-19-00, 05:47 AM
Visiting Guest
Question

Hello. I am finishing my basement and have a light at the bottom of the stairs controlled by a switch at the top of the stairs. I would like to add a switch at the bottom of the stairs, but am not sure how the wiring should go. I am a beginner at wiring... I have successfully wired several outlets but have not done any switches yet. Any sites you would suggest for diagrams?
Thanks!!

Old 11-19-00, 08:56 AM
Visiting Guest
First, you need to figure out how to run a 14/3 cable from the switch at the top of the stairs to where you want to switch at the bottom of the stairs. Once you do that, everything is easy.

Do that first, and then ask again.

Old 11-19-00, 12:03 PM
Visiting Guest
quote:<HR>Originally posted by John Nelson:
First, you need to figure out how to run a 14/3 cable from the switch at the top of the stairs to where you want to switch at the bottom of the stairs. Once you do that, everything is easy.

Do that first, and then ask again.
<HR>

Thanks... OK, I'm able to get a 14/3 cable from the switch at the top of the stairs to the switch at the bottom. (I assume 14/3 means 14 gauge, 3 wires- black-white-bare) Now what?

Old 11-19-00, 12:05 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
John is right you will have to be able to run a 3 wire cable between the old switch and the new switch.