static on phone line


  #1  
Old 09-29-02, 01:39 PM
Stanb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
static on phone line

My computer HP 6746 is causing static on ph line. The phone co says that I have a 570 ohm short. I tried changing the modem and the problem is worse if anything. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. I'm off-line right now so an email wonat reach me. thanks. stan
 
  #2  
Old 09-30-02, 04:28 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,025
Received 68 Votes on 57 Posts
Well, I've never heard THAT one before, but I would make absolutley sure it's not phone lines before I tore into the computer. Did they also test the line with the modem unplugged from the circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-02, 06:15 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try plugging the modem into another phone jack outlet and see if the problem is still there. I have heard of this before but almost everytime it turns out to be in the lines rather then the computer.
 
  #4  
Old 09-30-02, 12:27 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Refer your problem to the "Voice and Data Communication" section of this Community Forum---Good Luck!!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: