static on phone line

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-02, 01:39 PM
S
Stanb
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
static on phone line

My computer HP 6746 is causing static on ph line. The phone co says that I have a 570 ohm short. I tried changing the modem and the problem is worse if anything. Any suggestion would be greatly appreciated. I'm off-line right now so an email wonat reach me. thanks. stan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-30-02, 04:28 AM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,948
Received 49 Votes on 39 Posts
Well, I've never heard THAT one before, but I would make absolutley sure it's not phone lines before I tore into the computer. Did they also test the line with the modem unplugged from the circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-02, 06:15 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Try plugging the modem into another phone jack outlet and see if the problem is still there. I have heard of this before but almost everytime it turns out to be in the lines rather then the computer.
 
  #4  
Old 09-30-02, 12:27 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Refer your problem to the "Voice and Data Communication" section of this Community Forum---Good Luck!!!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: