Electircal problem, I'm totally stumped

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-02-02, 07:05 AM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electircal problem, I'm totally stumped

Late last night, I lost power to at least a couple circuits in my house. Upon first discovering this, I went to the panel and found no breakers tripped. I flipped them all anyway, but it did nothing.

Next, I went to a GFI in the kitchen - on a non-working circuit - and found I could not reset it. I replaced it with another GFI I had, and could not reset that one either. So I then tested the wiring to the GFI with a small-bulb circuit tester. No juice.

Upon further investigation, I found the following:
-My central AC does not work, neither does the furnace fan.
-My dishwasher, on its own dedicated circuit, does not work.
-I have power to the garage, but the garage door opener does not work, even when pressing the wall-mounted switch.
-My disposal (own circuit), microwave (own circuit), refrig and stove work fine.
-My computer, stereo, and television work fine (they are on a circuit that is not affected).

There was a bit of rain last night, but no storm of any consideration. No thunder, no lightning.

I've never had electrical problems in my home before at all.

Any thoughts?

If my dishwasher and door opener are fried (please, please no), is this something commonly covered by homeowners insurance?

Thanks for any advice.

Jon
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-02, 07:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Call your power company. Tell them what you told us. You've likely lost one leg of your power.
 
  #3  
Old 10-02-02, 08:23 AM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
John...are you saying that just part of my power can be lost, from outside the home?

Thanks for the quick reply,

Jon
 
  #4  
Old 10-02-02, 08:26 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes
 
  #5  
Old 10-02-02, 09:36 AM
New Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 105
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're a wise man, John.

A clamp on one of my service entrance lines was faulty.

All fixed.

Thanks!

Jon
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: