grounded outlet, no ground


  #1  
Old 10-03-02, 10:02 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Taylors, SC
Posts: 9,483
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
grounded outlet, no ground

1939 house, I found the outlet to the clothes washer is grounded, has a ground prong, but is fed with ungrounded romex, 12/2 no ground. Do I need to pull new wire or can I install a GFCI on this appliance?
 
  #2  
Old 10-03-02, 11:13 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,939
Received 338 Votes on 291 Posts
You can install a GFCI and label it 'no ground'.
 
  #3  
Old 10-03-02, 04:22 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not directly related, but, if there is no ground connection at the plug, then be sure that the dryer conenctions at the back of the machine are arranged per manufacturers recommendations regarding ground tied to neutral.
Most, more than most dryer receptacles do not require GFCI protection. The motor on the dryer may false trip it, and it will not be worth it, if it is not required.
 
  #4  
Old 10-03-02, 06:17 PM
resqcapt19
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
250.114(3)(b) requires that washers and dryers be connected to an equipment grounding conductor. I find no exceptions to this rule in 406.3(D) or anywhere else in the code. This is one of the reasons, that where a grounding type receptacle is installed without an equipment grounding conductor, that the code requires such receptacles to be labeled, "No Equipment Ground".
Don
 
  #5  
Old 10-03-02, 07:44 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
resqcapt19,
You are absolutely correct. I was thinking of an existing stove circuit.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: