Upgrading service questions!!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-05-02, 03:32 PM
T
Termite
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Upgrading service questions!!!

My wife and I are looking at a house, the inspector said that there is a 60 amp breaker that has a #10 wire and a #8 branch wire on it. In addition there is no room in panel to separate them. What would be our best choice in this situation? I know nothing about electrical work but want to know what my options are so we know if the electricians are being honest or if we may be able to do some of the work ourselfs. Thanks for any info.

Termite
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-02, 03:46 PM
A
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Quad breaker:

Some panels will not except a quad breaker,If your panel does. It will take up the same space as the 60. and both wires will have thier own breaker. But I would suggest doing it with other breakers, like a 20/20, then install a 30 for #10, and a 40 for the #8
If this would work, it can cost less then 100 $
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-02, 07:06 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As a condition of the purchase, ask the seller to have an electrician correct the problem and have it inspected by the city inspector and get a signed inspection certificate.
 
  #4  
Old 10-05-02, 09:44 PM
B
bungalow jeff
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Most insurance companies will not touch a house with 60A service.
 
  #5  
Old 10-06-02, 12:26 AM
A
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
John has raised a good point, but Jeff I donít think they meant they have a 60 amp service, only a 60 amp breaker with double wires in the terminals.
 
  #6  
Old 10-06-02, 07:45 AM
T
Termite
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the replys, they have helped in pointing me in some direction! I do think that the current service is 100 amp, however I will check to make sure. Thanks again.

Termite
 
  #7  
Old 10-06-02, 09:15 PM
B
bungalow jeff
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Woops, not service, 60A breaker. At least in Northern NJ, 100A breaker is the minimum for the major insurance carriers.
 
  #8  
Old 10-06-02, 09:17 PM
A
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Indiana as well, I believe this is becoming a standard set by insurance company's around the US.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: