adding rf control to 3 way switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-08-02, 05:12 PM
jay212
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
adding rf control to 3 way switch

Does anyone have a resource for an rf remote control that can replace a 3-way switch? The Decora "Anywhere Switch" is not made for 3-way but that's exactly the application. Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-08-02, 10:20 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 233
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
  #3  
Old 10-09-02, 06:17 AM
jay212
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
rf

Thanks for the post but, no, it'snot what I'm looking for. That's IR (infra-red) and I'm looking for rf (radio frequency). In additon, that system doesn't seem to be an add-on. But thanks very much for trying!
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-02, 06:45 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Look at this

http://www.smarthome.com/4003.html

plus this

http://www.smarthome.com/2202.html

or some similar combination.
 
  #5  
Old 10-09-02, 06:51 AM
jay212
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
getting there?

Mike: Thanks for the post but, alas, no luck. I want to replace an existing 3-way switch with a radio control 3-way switch. It's got to be out there but Google hasn't helped. Maybe I should e-mail Leviton and Lutron.
 
  #6  
Old 10-09-02, 07:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What do you mean by a radio control switch? With the combination I posted, you should be able to click on the RF remote transmitter and the lights turn on or off (actually the same remote could control two separate lights). What other feature are you looking for?
 
  #7  
Old 10-09-02, 07:18 AM
jay212
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
more

What I meant was that the signal to turn the device on and off was sent by radio frequency not infra red. The latter can only be done line of sight.

I don't see how the equiment described can replace an existing 3-way switch with a new 3-way switch and give me a hand-held clicker (or even a wall mounted switch with batteries like the Lutron 6696) to act, really, as if the system was a four-way.
 
  #8  
Old 10-09-02, 07:24 AM
jay212
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
aha!

Mike: Is this the system I'm looking for?

http://www.smarthome.com/2032.html
 
  #9  
Old 10-09-02, 07:32 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here's how it would work:

Replace one of your current three way switches with the DHC X10 500W (2201WI) dimmer and the other with a slave switch (2208W). This gives you a 3-way switch which can be controlled via X-10 powerline controls (addressable controls signals sent over your home wiring). There are a numbr of different makes/models of X-10 compatible switches which could be substituted for the Leviton units I cited.

You then plug the base unit for the X-10 wireless remote (the one I cited is RF, there are other RF makes/models as well), set the base unit and the dimmer to the same X-10 address, and the remote transmitter should now control the dimmer.

Two advantages to this system:
(1) The RF remote can control a second X-10 address, so you can have another X-10 device (like a dimmer on another light) controlled by the same remote.
(2) There are a number of other X-10 controllers which can generate the necessary control signals. I have a timer controller which turns my programmable lights on or off according to a schedule I set.
 
  #10  
Old 10-10-02, 03:01 PM
jay212
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks!

Thanks, Mike. That sounds perfect. I'll get to it right away.

Jay

p.s.: Sorry for the delayed response.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: