Attic wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-14-02, 10:47 AM
mkgram
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Attic wiring

Hi I'm new here, but as you guess I've got a question for you. I recently bought a house and want to semi finish the attic. I need to run wiring for lights and for receptacles. I also need to have an electric baseboard heater because once I put the insulation in there is no heat up there. You probably are wondering about the heat issue. My basement is totally finished and the attic is going to become the computer area/workroom. I checked my breaker box there is only 1 available slot open, there is 1 light fixture up there already controlled by a switch at the downstaiers door. ??
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-02, 12:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So what is your question? Are you asking if this job is feasible?

Almost anything is feasible given enough time and money. You will likely need to open up some more space in your panel, but this is normally possible by using tandem breakers.

Here are the key questions: (1) Does your panel accept and have room for tandem breakers? This question depends on the brand and type of panel and what's already in it. (2) Does your home have sufficient service capacity? The answer is probably yes, but if you are close to the limit now, you should have this evaluated. (3) How many circuits will you need? This depends a lot on how many square feet and cubic feet you have, what you mean by "semi finish", how good the insulation will be, what climate you have, and what you mean by "workshop". You will need to figure out your power needs. Some well-insulated attics stay warm enough without supplemental heat, since the heat from below rises.
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-02, 02:08 PM
mkgram
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes the box accepts tandems, there are three in there already. 1- stove,2- dryer,3- a/c. I actually want to insulate the ceiling and walls, put a door up at the top of the stairs and some pegboard, not real walls some of this is done already. I live in central New Jersey and the temp isn't as cold as it can get but it still is kind of frigid up there. This is why i was looking into baseboard electric heat. as for wiring i was figuring about 4-5 outlets and a decent overhead light.
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-02, 07:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may have confused "tandem" breakers with "double-pole" breakers. Tandem breakers are sometimes called skinny breakers or twin breakers. A double-pole breaker is usually two inches wide. A tandem breaker is usually one half inch wide.
 
  #5  
Old 10-14-02, 07:46 PM
mkgram
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Okay, you were right I confused the 2. The ones in the breaker box are like 2 regular breakers and have a "bar" connecting both levers. The breaker box is a Square D.
 
  #6  
Old 10-14-02, 08:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Where is the existing panel and how far from the attic is it? You would only need to gain one space in it if you used a sub there. Just a thought.
 
  #7  
Old 10-15-02, 04:37 PM
mkgram
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Okay the breaker box is in the basement approximately 20-25 feet straight down the front wall. how hard would it be to hook up a sub box? I know it actually all depends on the logistics of everything.
 
  #8  
Old 10-15-02, 05:05 PM
texsparky
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question

What are the receptacles going to be used for ?In other words,do you have any idea of what size the load might be in amperage or watts.

How much of a load is on the circuit that the light is currently on?It may be possible(and probably is)to use it for your receptacles and lights and use the 1 space that you have to run a new circuit for the heater.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: