Replaced outlets but no power restored

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-22-02, 08:07 AM
G
gartz01
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Replaced outlets but no power restored

I threw the circuit breaker to change out some old outlets. The circuit controlled 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. After I replaced the outlets, I went to turn the power back on. Well, the power has not returned. Fortunately, the outside wall outlet in the bedroom I replaced the outlets in must be on another circuit because it works. The rest of the outlets and switches in both bedrooms and baths are out. The outlets are single-pole (2 white wires and 2 black wires with no ground). I've tried flipping the circuit breaker switch several times, but nothing happens. I even threw the main switch. Any suggestions? Thanks!!!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-22-02, 09:07 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may need to reset a GFCI receptacle. You could have several, and they could be far from the affected outlets. Try the garage first.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-02, 09:51 AM
G
gartz01
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
No such luck. There is only one GFCI in the garage. I could not find any others. Any other suggestions? Thank you!
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-02, 10:00 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 510
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Regarding the outlet that still works - had you replaced that one too? Are you certain it is on another circuit?
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-02, 10:02 AM
G
gartz01
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The one outlet that still works IS one that I replaced.
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-02, 10:22 AM
T
texsparky
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Did you remove all of the outlets that you replaced and check for a loose or broken wire at each one?Did you look at the outside outlets to see if a gfci was tripped?Are the bathroom receptacles gfci type?
 
  #7  
Old 10-22-02, 10:49 AM
G
gartz01
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
OK. I double checked the outlets I replaced. Everything appears to be fine. The bathroom outlets are not gfci. The one working outlet turns out to be on the same circuit as the rest that are not working. The one working outlet turns out to be on the same circuit as the rest that are not working. Ummmm.
 
  #8  
Old 10-22-02, 11:19 AM
B
bigpapa
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
outlets

check to see if the copper link between the two screws on the outlet are intact. There are times that this link is opened for one outlet to be fed by two different circuits.
 
  #9  
Old 10-22-02, 11:26 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes.. was it a brand new outlet you used or one you find laying around. The problem is most likely with the outgoing on the one that is working.
 
  #10  
Old 10-22-02, 11:31 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Be sure all wall switches in and near the rooms where you replaced the devices are "On"---The next step is to expose the terminals of the devices you replaced for a positive voltage check across the wires. Check ALL combinations where 2 Blacks and 2 Whites connect to a receptacle---Black 1 to White 1 and White2, Black 2 to White 1 and White 2.--Did you replace receptacles only?---Good Luck!!
 
  #11  
Old 10-22-02, 01:34 PM
G
gartz01
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Talking

SUCCESS!
I re-installed the outlets and the power has returned. I must have wired something incorrectly the first time. I'm so glad it was as simple as that. Thanks for all the input and help. I certainly learned a lot. Thanks again.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: