circuit failure after replacing outlets

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-23-02, 09:40 PM
H
hovrens
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question circuit failure after replacing outlets

I'm sure it's happened to someone else???

I replaced outlets and switches on a circuit. I followed black to brass and white to silver with all outlets grounded to copper. I turned the breaker back on and there was no power to the circuit. I thought the breaker failed and it was replaced as well. It was not the breaker! I then replaced the outlets thinking one of my $1.25 outlets failed.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-23-02, 10:02 PM
T
texsparky
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Lightbulb

You have probably tripped a gfci somewhere. It could be outside,in the garage,in a bathroom,in the kitchen.Look around and see if you can locate one.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-02, 08:14 AM
fatkid66's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Northeast NJ
Posts: 247
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
could also be a problem with a neutral. w/o a neutral anything plugged into an outlet wont work, and give the appearance of no power. i suggest getting a reliable voltage tester, and first check the breaker at the panel hot to neut, and hot to ground. then check at each receptacle in the same way. if you have lost the nuut. some where you still should get e reading of 110V to ground. hope that helps!
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-02, 04:06 PM
H
hovrens
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I checked GFCI. Only 1 in bathroom and thats good to go. Thnxs
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-02, 04:17 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Go spend $8 on a receptacle tester -- the kind with two amber lights and a red light. Plug into all the receptacles on the circuit and let us know what it tells you.

I assume that since you didn't say that the breaker tripped, that that means that it did not. True?

Sometimes black to brass and white to silver is not the right approach, especially if the receptacle is switched. It is usually better to replicate what was there before.
 
  #6  
Old 10-25-02, 06:19 PM
H
hovrens
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the good info fatkid66!!! I found someone returned an outlet to Home Depot and had cut the tab on the nuetral side. Home Depot sold it to me!!! I spent $3 on a tester and it saved me an electrician bill. A fellow FF bro saved again!
 
  #7  
Old 10-25-02, 06:28 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the end of the story. That's a new one for me. It's pretty rare to have a defect in a receptacle straight from the store. And pretty unethical for somebody to return a receptacle they had broken the tab off of.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: