Sub Panel Question

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-24-02, 06:30 PM
B
bhyman
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Sub Panel Question

Hi all,
I currently have a 100 amp service and the panel is full. I have no need to upgrade the service (!). I would like to add a sub panel, rather than replacing the current panel with a larger one.

My question is, is it possible to add a 100 amp sub panel? Or does the breaker feeding the subpanel need to be smaller than the main breaker?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-25-02, 07:45 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A subpanel will increase your number of possible circuits, but it won't add one watt to your electrical capacity. A subpanel is not an alternative to a service upgrade.

It makes no sense to put a 100-amp subpanel off a 100-amp main panel. But you can put a 40-amp or 50-amp or 60-amp subpanel to give you more breaker slots.
 
  #3  
Old 10-25-02, 09:27 AM
B
bhyman
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Yes. Increasing the number of circuits is what I need to do. I do not need more than 100 amp service for my house (stated in earlier message), which is why I want to add a subpanel rather than replacing the current panel.

I was basically wondering how large a feed I can provide a subpanel. For example, if the main breaker panel is 100 amp, can you legally put a 100 amp feed to the sub, or does that breaker for the sub panel need to be smaller that the main breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 10-25-02, 09:51 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you can find the 100-amp breaker, I think you can use it.
 
  #5  
Old 10-25-02, 01:01 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A 60 A breaker is MUCH cheaper.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: