Aluminum wireing

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-25-02, 04:58 PM
S
Sarah J
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Aluminum wireing

Have you ever heard of 10 gauge wire about 25 to 40 years old breaking down while under a 110 volt load?
We have a line from the house to an old garage that may have this problem. Have ruled out a problem in the circuit breaker box and all switches and lights.
This line is about 65-70 feet in length and exposed to the weather.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-25-02, 06:14 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Define "breaking down".
 
  #3  
Old 10-26-02, 09:06 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,391
Received 203 Votes on 179 Posts
Is this buried cable or arial. It think it is arial as you said exposed to weather. The insulation could have broke down and the conductors are shorting. Or the conductors could be broken from swinging in the wind. If it is an open situation check near all the poles and at the ends of the line.
 
  #4  
Old 10-26-02, 09:26 AM
S
Sarah J
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
By breaking down

I mean we are getting a voltage drop after a couple of hours use. This may go to a complete loss of power after several hours.
This a.m. we found that the end of the wire going into a fuse box in the garage was corroded and loose. This was caused by the previous owner of this place replacing the brass anchor screw with a steel screw.
We are going to replace the old wire with new romax as the present wiring is, in my opinion, unsafe.
 
  #5  
Old 10-26-02, 10:59 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,115
Received 69 Votes on 59 Posts
Sarah,

DO NOT replace your existing cable with non-metallic cable or Romex. This type of cable is not to be used where it is exposed to the weather.

If you can describe your application better we can give a better type of cable to use.
 
  #6  
Old 10-27-02, 04:43 AM
S
Sarah J
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Unhappy romax...

This is my husband's question, I'll do what I can with it. The wires run in the air from the house to his shop/garage. Used for lights, floresant and regular bulbs, drills, saws, sanders, anything electricity can be used for in a work shop.
 
  #7  
Old 10-27-02, 07:21 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,391
Received 203 Votes on 179 Posts
What is size of the breaker this overhead cable is connected to at main panel in the house.
 
  #8  
Old 10-27-02, 09:08 AM
S
Sarah J
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Breaker size

is 30 amperes.
In the past someone has put an old style 2 fuse box in the garage which also has 30 ampere fuses. We are not using any commercial duty tools. Being retired I use mainly a skill saw and electric drill and sometimes a power sander or small bench grinder.
 
  #9  
Old 10-27-02, 09:39 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As soon as practical, replace the 30-amp fuses with 15-amp or 20-amp fuses. General use receptacles are not allowed on circuits with 30-amp protection. You might want to have an electrically experienced person do a thorough review of your electrical system for other safety hazards. It's clear that some former owners were not as concerned about safety as I am sure that you are.
 
  #10  
Old 10-27-02, 12:15 PM
S
Sarah J
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Smile thank you John...

I will tell my husband what you said about the fuses. We are trying to get my younger brother up here to check this whole thing out. He is trained in these things.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: