Italian Chandelier

Old 10-25-02, 06:04 PM
A
Armchair
Visiting Guest
Question Italian Chandelier

Hi, Newbie here,

My wife bought a chandelier while on vacation in Italy. I am trying to wire it and it has the usual 3 wires, but totally diff colors than I have seen. They are brown, blue and yellow w/ a green stripe.

Anyone have any advice on the translation to white/ black/ green I'm used to? I'd like to avoid calling an electrician if I can.

Thanks for the consideration.

edit- kan't spel

Sponsored Links
Old 10-25-02, 06:07 PM
J
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In my opinion, and for many reasons, I do not believe that it is safe to install a fixture in the U.S. that was designed for use in Italy.

Old 10-25-02, 09:29 PM
A
Armchair
Visiting Guest
Clarification->
It is a new and well crafted piece purchased from a reputable dealer that specializes in exports. By all appearances ( wire colors excepted) it is compliant with US standards.

Old 10-26-02, 03:41 AM
John, I am most curious why you feel the Italian fixture shouldn't be used on this side of the pond? I am doing some work for a friend who recently moved back to the US from several years in Germany and brought her ceiling fixtures with her. (It is customary there for you to take the fixtures as you would your furniture when you move.) She showed them to me and asked if I thought they could be used in her house here. I told her the wire looked slightly small since it was wired for 240 v. and I thought that if rewired with a little heavier wire, 16 or so that it would be perfectly fine. Why do you think this is a bad plan? (Or you referring only to Italian light fixtures?)

Old 10-26-02, 05:02 AM
Different electrical standards over there (there is anywhere but the USA). Although the standards might be higher than the USA, maybe they are lower. The reason we have UL here, is because a detailed inspection very often can not happen at the point of sale as it can be done during manufacture.

Old 10-26-02, 06:36 AM
J