grounds


  #1  
Old 11-11-02, 09:56 PM
lars3159
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
grounds

Can someone point me to some info on the required number of grounds for multiple circuits run in conduit? For instance I am running four circuits in a conduit. How many pairs can share a ground of the same size as the conductors?
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 11-11-02, 10:26 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you talking about equipment grounds or neutrals (grounded conducters) in a shared neutral multiwire circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-02, 07:23 PM
lars3159
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I am talking about grounds not neutrals. I have four circuits going to a junction box which then leave the junction box as romex. Do I need a ground for each circuit or can I run one green wire for all of the circuits which then bonds to the grounds in the romex?
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-02, 07:40 PM
A
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
one ground, sized to the largest breaker/fuse serving the branch circuits you are installing.
example: 15ampbreaker= 14 ground
20amp breaker= 12 ground
30/40/60amp breaker= 10 ground
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: