grounds

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-11-02, 10:56 PM
lars3159
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
grounds

Can someone point me to some info on the required number of grounds for multiple circuits run in conduit? For instance I am running four circuits in a conduit. How many pairs can share a ground of the same size as the conductors?
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-11-02, 11:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you talking about equipment grounds or neutrals (grounded conducters) in a shared neutral multiwire circuit?
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-02, 08:23 PM
lars3159
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
I am talking about grounds not neutrals. I have four circuits going to a junction box which then leave the junction box as romex. Do I need a ground for each circuit or can I run one green wire for all of the circuits which then bonds to the grounds in the romex?
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-02, 08:40 PM
Master Electrician
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Indiana
Posts: 300
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
one ground, sized to the largest breaker/fuse serving the branch circuits you are installing.
example: 15ampbreaker= 14 ground
20amp breaker= 12 ground
30/40/60amp breaker= 10 ground
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: