is this dangerous ?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-20-02, 09:10 AM
papi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 153
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
is this dangerous ?

My house main panel is 100 Amps. 240 V [ fused], there is a subpanel connected to it .
The subpanel has 2 rows of 3 fuses each. A 12-2 BX is connected to one of the Main panel fuses [15 Amps] bringing 120 V to the sub.The hot is connected to one of the line screws[right side of subpanel] and neutral to N busbar] The left side is not connected.
The hot side has only 2 fuses instaled 15 amps each .

Each fuse has a short run of 14-2 going to a couple of junction boxes and out of each box again a couple of 14-2 branching out to 5 lights and two receptacles scatered in the basement. The total loads are small but im wondering if this setup is safe [fire risk or shocks]

Again my many thanks to all of you who have the knowledge and are so kind to share it tnx a lot papi
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-20-02, 09:20 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Brethren, Mi
Posts: 1,648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 12 feeding the sub is fused at 15 A,,, so I dont see a problem. It would let you know if it was overloaded.
 
  #3  
Old 11-20-02, 10:21 AM
papi's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 153
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tnx SB for reply ,my concern was mainly with the sub been wired in only one side and having two or three junction boxes with several other branches but i guess this subpanel is in effect like a fused junction box and loads total are less than 600 watts when everything is on at the same time.
Beacause of the old wiring in the rest of the house all loads have been reduce to a minimun, light bulbs have beenreplaced with new low wattage fluorescents from IKEA ,By THE WAY DO YOU KNOW IF THIS KINnd OF LIGTH BULBS rated to 15 watts do they draw higher currents to start or is it allways the same,i notice that they take a second or two to turn on.

regards papi
 
  #4  
Old 11-20-02, 10:54 PM
Pendragon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 1,852
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
CFL's and in fact, all flourescent lights have a higher starting load than operating (much like motors).

If I put a CFL on the same circuit as my computers UPS, the UPS will flip on with the light because the voltage drops so low for the instant that the light starts.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: