wire size


  #1  
Old 12-08-02, 06:10 PM
zinger
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wire size

I was told I need to run 14-2 for this and 12-2 for that. My question is can I run the bigger wire thru out the new addition? Do I have to get bigger breakers? Is it cheaper or more expenive to get one size or both sizes of wire?
 
  #2  
Old 12-08-02, 06:45 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 49
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would go with the 12/2 wire and forget the 14/2. The differance in price is minimal This wire will need to be protected by a 20 amp breaker.

Good luck.
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-02, 06:47 PM
HandyRon's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 1,365
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You may run the larger wire throughout. It is slightly higher $$$, but not much. There are benifits from running larger wire esspecially regarding reduction of volt drop. You may run #12 awg wire and connect it to either a 15 or 20A breaker. Many folks do it that way as a matter of practice.
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-02, 07:15 PM
zinger
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wire

Thank jbfan and HandyRon
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: