can I use conduit ?

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 12-11-02, 05:36 PM
G
greg1
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question can I use conduit ?

I am running 4 - 15 amp circuits to my basement but my electrical panel is located in the garage. Can I run romex in PVC schedule 40 and if so, how may lines and what size conduit should I use ? or
Should I run metal conduit using individual wires to a junction box located in the basement and then complete my circuits with Romex ? What are my options ? The total conduit run would be about 25 feet from the panel to the basement ?
I was also thinking about bx cable as a final option. I'm not crazy about its appearence.

thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-02, 06:02 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is better to keep the cables physically separated for better heat dissipation. If you use conduit, you'll need 12-gauge or larger wire just to support a 15-amp breaker (14-gauge won't do, and you can't use a 20 amp breaker even though you have 12-gauge wire). And you'll need to use at least 1.5" conduit for four 12/2 cables.

If you use individual wires, you will still need 12-gauge wire for 15-amp circuits, but you can go down to 3/4" conduit.

Or consider 8/3 and put a 40-amp subpanel in your basement. That's what I'd do, although it is probably not the cheapest option. But it does offer more power in your basement.
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-02, 06:06 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 49
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you can get to the panel to run conduit, why can't you run the romex? If you run conduit, and regular thhn, or thwn,(individual wires) you would only be allowed to run 3 circuits without derating. Running romex inside pvc is not an easy task with as many wires as you want. You would still only be allowed 3 circuits in each pipe. The best way would be romex back to the panel!

Good luck!
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-02, 06:21 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 144
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
After a derating of 70% for 8 current carrying conductors in a raceway, #14 AWG is still good for 17.5 amps and may be used to serve these four 15 amp circuits. Conduit as small as " may be used for the 9 individual #14 AWG THHN conductors.
 
  #5  
Old 12-11-02, 06:28 PM
S
solipsist9
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
you seem concerned about how it looks. in that case, run conduit. #14 is fine for 15 amp circuits, and 1/2" conduit will easily hold 8 or them. do not run romex or any other "cable" inside conduit. it's totally unnecessary and just makes life difficult. individual wires is fine. in fact, if you share a neutral for 2 circuits, you can wire 4 circuits with 6 wires. but if sharing a neutral doesn't make any sense to you. forget i said it. just run a hot and a neutral for each circuit. you daon't to use #12 on a 15 amp until you have 10 or more wires in a conduit, and grounds don't count.
 
  #6  
Old 12-11-02, 06:36 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, I was wrong. Bolted Fault and solipsist9 are correct. As long as you don't need a fifth circuit.
 
Closed Thread
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: