breaker trips

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-14-02, 04:16 PM
J
jebemcshay
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
breaker trips

My dryer runs for about 10 min. then the breaker trips dryer is a couple of years old.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-14-02, 05:42 PM
M
marvtech
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
with out other information i would first check air flow, maybe even unhook vent and run whitout a vent hose and see if problem still happens.
 
  #3  
Old 12-14-02, 08:11 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Please provide some history. Is this a different dryer in the same house, same dryer in a different house, ...??? What if anything changed? And does the breaker say 20 or 30? And in what year was the house biult?
 
  #4  
Old 12-15-02, 07:50 AM
G
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Calgary Canada
Posts: 697
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This might sound crazy but has anyone cleaned out the lint trap?
They can get filled with lint and not alow the air flow and the dryer overheats.
 
  #5  
Old 12-15-02, 08:41 AM
J
jebemcshay
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
breaker is a double 15 , vent was cleaned thoroughly and machine. Machine is in the same place never been moved.
Started tripping once in a while and in the last month began to trip at shorter intervals. Now goes for about 2 min.
 
  #6  
Old 12-15-02, 10:14 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've never heard of a clothes dryer that could run on 15 amp. Some of the smaller/older one could run on 20 amps. Modern ones need 30 amps. I suggest you have a professional evaluate this setup to see if this dryer is on an appropriate circuit, and to see if the breaker is correctly sized for the wire. Whatever you do, do not increase the breaker size without a full evaluation by a professional.

In what year was your house built? Is this a full-size dryer, or a smaller apartment-size one? Is the dryer in a regular laundry room, or at least an area wired to be used for laundry? Perhaps the room is designed to be used with a gas dryer?
 
  #7  
Old 12-15-02, 10:31 AM
J
jebemcshay
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It is a 30 amp, double 15. The dryer is full size. The laundry was built about 9 years ago. The room was made for an electric washer and dryer. The vent goes straight up and out, with only one turn out of the house.
 
  #8  
Old 12-15-02, 10:36 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Do the breaker handles have the numbers "30" on them, or the numbers "15"?

30 amps is 30 amps. It is not made up of two 15s. The amperage of each half of a double-pole breaker cannot be added together.

Has anybody ever replaced the breaker?
 
  #9  
Old 12-15-02, 04:22 PM
J
jebemcshay
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It says 15 on each. I tried another breaker same problem.
It ran on the old breaker for about 2 years with only an occasional trip.
 
  #10  
Old 12-15-02, 04:43 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States
Posts: 18,497
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think it almost certain that you have the wrong breaker. Whoever put this in probably didn't understand 240-volt circuits. Check the wire size (at both ends) before changing anything.

Why did it work for two years? You were lucky. The dryer motor is working just a bit harder now that it is older.

What year was the house built?
 
  #11  
Old 12-15-02, 04:52 PM
J
jebemcshay
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
The wire in that part of the house is 9 years old. This dryer is a replacement for an old dryer(used maytag) that we had that ran fine in the same spot for 6 years.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: